Which CPU between intel and amd? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2007, 02:23 AM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

The plan has been to wait and I guess I am looking for more reasons to wait. So far, as I said, waiting has let the price of the e6700 to drop from about $550 to $350 and I'd like to do the same with the graphics cards but if any other significant changes are coming soon like quad cores or dx10 cards I guess I might end up waiting a few months. And I'm glad so many people are pushing the e6700 as better since I've been using an intel chip now for 7 years and I was not really wanting to change.

So, if anyone knows any more predictions on significant price drops in the next few months please share...

Codeguru
__________________

Codeguru is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 07:05 AM   #22 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

Wait, why are you still going for the e6700? It's better than the X2 6000+, but get the e6600 instead. It's only 200MHz slower and cheaper. So just overclock the e6600, 200MHz. Then you got yourself an e6700, without spending the extra money.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:56 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

yeah u could even go for the e6420
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 07:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

Well I'd rather not skimp on the chip. If they are indeed lowering the prices on july 22 then I'm definately going for the highest one. Though if I were planning to not overclock do you think it would be worth the price? I've never really tried to overclock any CPU before, does it lower the life expectancy of the chip by running it harder? My current CPU is a P4 2.4ghz but for some reason when I set my BIOS to manual instead of the 2400 option on the chip setting it runs at 1.8ghz. Did they sell me a chip based on its overclock speed?...

Codeguru
Codeguru is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 08:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

I think it's running on a low power state, which will cause it to downclock. I could be wrong.

But overclocking is safe, now a days. And if you overclock to high, you just have to reset the CMOS, and everything is back to default. It does lower the life, but not significantly. The CPU has an average lifespan of 10 years, and overclocking, takes away about 1-2 years, depending on how heavy you overclock it. Now in 8 years or so, will you be using, the same processor? I doubt it.

Also you're not skimping, even though, you go for the lowest chip, because all the C2Ds, overclock reall really well. So the lowest one, can overclock near or to the highest, while saving hundreds of dollars.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 01:20 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

u might as well get the q6600 after price drops
kobe24 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:00 AM   #27 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

b1gapl nos wat he talking bout. its just not worth spending the extra momney on sumthin u can achieve ur self in a couple of hours. o/c really isnt too hard just look up sum tutorials in google or if i recall correctly there is even sum here on TF.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 09:06 AM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Which CPU between intel and amd?

yeah I'd just get a e6420 or e6600...there's no point in paying the extra money for a e6700...
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.