Cpu Amd/intel - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 04:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazykiller View Post
Im building a new system, but as of now i dont have a tight budget, maybe like $2500 for the whole thing...
well thats a really high budget and easy for us...infact you wont even need that much money to spend.
do you wanna go sli?
and if you really want that sounc card i suggested, i would buy it today since it will be gone by tomorrow.

edit: and you will be able to play crysis at very max settings!!!
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

what is a good price a gaming machine i am just wondering, yeah i probably would...maybe like 2x 320 mb cards
__________________

lazykiller is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

I think we already told you not to get either the gts 320mb or the gts 640mb

its crap compared to the 8800gt, but I'd go with two hd3870's over two 8800gt's because the performance is better and you don't have to deal with lousy nVidia Chipsets
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
I think we already told you not to get either the gts 320mb or the gts 640mb

its crap compared to the 8800gt, but I'd go with two hd3870's over two 8800gt's because the performance is better and you don't have to deal with lousy nVidia Chipsets
but would i be able to use two of them cause it shows that it is a big GPU
lazykiller is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

You can crossfire 3870's. I don't know how big they are physically but I would imagine they fit in a mid tower, full tower for sure.

Was your budget for just the tower? or did it need everything?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 05:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

the 8800gts 320mb is bigger than 4 8800gt's seriously...

the hd3870 is dual-slot like the gts 320mb/640mb, but its still smaller than the GTS
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Cpu Amd/intel

since hes got a great budget, he could get the cooler master stacker 832 or cm cosmos(aku)
he could crossfire, i was gonna say wait for the new ati card, but that may take some time...not sure on the release date.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Cpu And Ram questions(and Advise for new my comp) DragenFear System Upgrades 20 01-06-2008 07:19 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.