Which CPU? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2005, 09:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

or if you want to get some nice ram i would say get some OCZ ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146883

if you get this, and if you ever feel like OCing you can.
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Do you think it will be good for gaming in the future? Anything I should change if I want to be able to run games on high settings?
__________________

NeedPCHelp is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 09:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

if you dont want to upgrade later on i say get 2GB of ram

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227210

257-27 dollar mail in rebate, excellent for the price. and this will last you a long time and is great for gaming
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 12:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Default

If I got the AMD 64 3700 San Diego would it be able to run games on the highest settings for a while? Or should I get a better CPU?
NeedPCHelp is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 03:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you will be able to play ALL of today games with that 7800GTX and 1GB or 2GB of ram on high settings

it actually more depends on your video card then your ram then your processor. processor doesnt have much to do with games. like bf2. more of a video card and memory hog. anyways if you want you can get an fx but i say save money and get hte 3700.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

we dont really know at the moment but if games start to use the dual core, AMDs X2 processors will be alot more future proof than what u have selected.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.