Which cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Phoenix219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Default Which cpu?

I'm building a new gaming rig and I want to get the best performance possible out of it. I'm torn between going with an AMD 6400+ dual core or the Intel q6600 quad core. I'm kind of biased towards AMD because I've had a few of their processors and they've been great, but it seems like the Intel quad core is kicking the crap out of everything these days. I could also get faster ram if I went with Intel. What are your opinions?

EDIT: It's an entirely new build. I'll be using an asus motherboard depending on which processor I choose, 4gb OCZ Reaper ram, 2 250gb western digital sata hard drives, and 2 evga 8800gt's in SLI, along with he other stuff like the case, dvd drives, etc. my budget is flexible but i'd like to keep it under $1800.
__________________

Phoenix219 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Which cpu?

If you have the choice, and your Buying a new motherboard.
Then most certainly a Q6600.

Your better off teling us your entire budget, the parts you need and the parts youll be reusing.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Re: Which cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix219 View Post
I'm building a new gaming rig and I want to get the best performance possible out of it. I'm torn between going with an AMD 6400+ dual core or the Intel q6600 quad core. I'm kind of biased towards AMD because I've had a few of their processors and they've been great, but it seems like the Intel quad core is kicking the crap out of everything these days. I could also get faster ram if I went with Intel. What are your opinions?

EDIT: It's an entirely new build. I'll be using an asus motherboard depending on which processor I choose, 4gb OCZ Reaper ram, 2 250gb western digital sata hard drives, and 2 evga 8800gt's in SLI, along with he other stuff like the case, dvd drives, etc. my budget is flexible but i'd like to keep it under $1800.
Hahaha.. best I am a Fanboy but don't want to admit it statement!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Which cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix219 View Post
I'm torn between going with an AMD 6400+ dual core or the Intel q6600 quad core. I'm kind of biased towards AMD because I've had a few of their processors and they've been great, but it seems like the Intel quad core is kicking the crap out of everything these days. I could also get faster ram if I went with Intel. What are your opinions?
no competition AT ALL between those two, the q6600 is the way to go
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Which cpu?

Yeah I have the x2 6400+ Black Edition and its sick, but the Q6600 does beat it. I mean its a quad core verses a dual core. As of right now the x2 6400 can beat it in some programs but as far as overclockability, and future proof the q6600 is a good deal. I like my x2 6400 though. It comes stock at high speds, but i o/ced it a little bit for now. And i got a good deal with a motherboard combo then i sold the motherboard to get this really good motherboard for the same price.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Which cpu?

um do you seriously have AF64 with AS5?
thought it came with mx-1 pad...
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 11:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: Which cpu?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
um do you seriously have AF64 with AS5?
thought it came with mx-1 pad...
long story lol, but anyways it got wiped off, cuz i originally used it with my 64 3000+ s939 and i got it o/ced from 1.8 to 2.8ghz with that sucker, but then once i upgraded to AM2, i realized i had no thermal paste lol, so i had to buy some AS5 from my computer store because they didn't have MX1, and i dont want to pay 12 bucks for it on newegg after shipping and taxes.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 10:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Which cpu?

yeah get the q6600 for sure
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Cooler NEED HELP LOL stillwitpentium System Upgrades 16 11-18-2007 04:45 PM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Please explain what a CPU Clock Speed is fcui21 System Upgrades 3 10-03-2007 06:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.