Couple Questions for High End Rig - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Old 02-03-2010, 10:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Default Re: Couple Questions for High End Rig

Originally Posted by beherenow71 View Post
Why do people always suggest that? I'm not trying to be rude or anything, just curious. Why get something to overclock to 3.4 when you can get something that starts at 3.4 and overclock from there? Its only $25 more on newegg.

Again, I'm not trying to be rude just don't understand. I don't really understand how overclocking works as I've never done it before, though I would like to learn.
You probably get that response because when you say your interested in buying a specific CPU, your interest can be interpreted in a few ways:
1. thats the maximum you want to spend on a cpu
2. you figure the speed of that processor is what you are looking for
3. you plan to overclock the **** out of it and take it for everything it's got.

Most people who post on this site asking for build suggestions don't plan on overclocking and probably intend the 1st or 2nd thoughts. When trying to squeeze as much performance into a specific budget $25 can make a difference. Being that (in this specific case) the x4 955 would OC to x4 965 speeds with less effort than it took me to write this post, it may be a viable option for someone with no overclocking or even hardware experience. Thus allowing the user to put that extra $25 towards something that may benefit their system more.

I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
Old 02-05-2010, 12:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Send a message via AIM to bloodzero