Couple Questions for High End Rig

Status
Not open for further replies.
Why do people always suggest that? I'm not trying to be rude or anything, just curious. Why get something to overclock to 3.4 when you can get something that starts at 3.4 and overclock from there? Its only $25 more on newegg.

Again, I'm not trying to be rude just don't understand. I don't really understand how overclocking works as I've never done it before, though I would like to learn.

You probably get that response because when you say your interested in buying a specific CPU, your interest can be interpreted in a few ways:
1. thats the maximum you want to spend on a cpu
2. you figure the speed of that processor is what you are looking for
3. you plan to overclock the **** out of it and take it for everything it's got.

Most people who post on this site asking for build suggestions don't plan on overclocking and probably intend the 1st or 2nd thoughts. When trying to squeeze as much performance into a specific budget $25 can make a difference. Being that (in this specific case) the x4 955 would OC to x4 965 speeds with less effort than it took me to write this post, it may be a viable option for someone with no overclocking or even hardware experience. Thus allowing the user to put that extra $25 towards something that may benefit their system more.

Money only played a medium sized factor in my build. I had a big budget to begin with. I'm building it myself, the parts are coming in now. I've never overclocked because I've never spent this kinda money on a PC. So even spending whatever amount to get the 965 is a viable expense. I've just never dived into overclocking that much but if it's highly recommended by you all, then it looks like it's something I going to do asap.

This is what my build is looking like right now. It'll be able to handle almost anything I throw at it. There were just a couple parts I was questioning.

CoolerMaster HAF 932 Full Tower