Couple of problems with first build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2009, 01:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Question Couple of problems with first build

Ok so I've finally built my first build thanks to all the help that you guys have given me

I only have two problems with it:

1) My operating system (windows vista 32 bit) only detects that I have 3 gb ram, when I actually have 6gb. A friend told me that it could be the OS that reads it wrong because it's only 32 bit, but I thought I would come here to ask you about it. My work office gave me 32 bit instead of 64 bit because they didn't have it with them, so I've put in a work order for 64 bit, so hopefully they will get it soon.

2) My computer won't connect to the internet. I have comcast cable and when I tried to hook my computer up to my router, it didn't detect it.

GPU: GeForce Gtx 260 Superclocked (900mb memory, 448 bit interface)
CPU: Intel Core i7 Quad Core
Case: Thermaltake Armor Series (full tower)
PSU: Corsair 750w 700w
Mobo: ASUS P6T LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard (Memory Standard: DDR3 1333, 2000 OC)
HDD: Western Digital 1TB
RAM: OCZ Gold 6gb (3x2gb)
OS: Vista Ultimate 32 bit (they gave us the wrong one at work, so I've ordered the 64 bit, and I'm using the 32 bit for now)
DVD Drive: LG Black/DVD burner
Keyboard: GIGABYTE standard keyboard
Mouse: Logitech G5 Laser Mouse
Monitor: 37" Vizio FHDTV (1080p)

On a side note, I've already tested a couple FPS and RTS games and they work like a charm, I even got 100 fps on a couple FPS games
__________________

ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
myowngod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 286
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

1) your friend is correct... you will have all 6 once you get 64bit

2) double check to make sure you have the latest ethernet drivers for your mobo....
and make sure the ethernet port you have it plugged in is enabled in the BIOS
__________________

__________________
HAF 932 | i7 920 @ 4.4ghz | OCZ Platinum | EVGA GTX285-SC | EVGA X58 SLI
Corsair 1000HX | Samsung T240 & 2253bw | Watercooled
myowngod is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

Thanks I'll go check #2, and if it is enabled and I don't have the latest drivers, how am I supposed to get them? I'm certain I don't have a cd with the drivers on it.

I'll edit this post once I look at the BIOS.

EDIT: It said something about LAN (couldn't read it because it only showed half of my screen for some reason..gonna fix the resolution) which was disabled, and I enabled it.
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

Yes it appears that you have not installed your lan drivers yet.
Download the latest drivers from asus and put them on a cd or usb memory stick.

Have you installed the newest chipset drivers as well?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

Ok I found the chipset drivers on the cd that came with the mobo xD

I'm an excited man so I didn't pay attention to stuff like that, I just wanted this puppy to start up

I'm going to try install this and see if it does anything, and then I'll try find some lan drivers and put em on a usb. But on my old computer I don't think I had to install any lan drivers and my internet worked fine on it, but I'll look for em anyway.

Thanks guys, I'll post back after I've tried this.
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

go and download the newest chipset drivers from asus as the one on your disk is sure to be outdated.

For future refenence:
1) install OS
2) install newest chipset drivers.
3) install lan drivers.
4) go online and update windows.
5) install newest gpu drivers.
6) install sound and remaining needed drivers in no particular order.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

WOOT IT WORKED. I put in the cd and installed the LAN driver and my internet works on it. YAAY!

I love you guys, thanks so much for the help.

EDIT: Oh and kinda off-topic, why doesn't my avatar show?

Double EDIT: My motherboard screen pops up at the start of the computer, can I just skip it and go straight to the OS?
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

Nice.

edit: are you uploading a custom avatar? if so it must fall within these guidelines based upon your current user lever.

Registered Users Extra (40 - 100 posts):

* Custom avatars allowed, 80x80 & 20k

double edit: If you are talking about the express gate screen you can either wait the 10 seconds, press the enter os button or turn it off in bios.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 06:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

Uninstall the express gate. It is dumb. You didn't just click "install all" when you put your disc in, did you? If you did, you now have Norton on your rig and that is a nono.

You need this to get rid of it: Download Norton Removal Tool 2009.0.5.40 - A program that can remove some Norton software from your computer - Softpedia
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 06-27-2009, 01:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Couple of problems with first build

You cannot uninstall express gate as it is a built in ssd on the motherboard. It allows you some limited internet activities without installing an operating system.

You can disable it from bios if you do not want to see the splash screen.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying a new Build for gaming Adept System Upgrades 6 05-07-2009 01:51 PM
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
Couple of Quick Questions on New Build. JDM555 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 03-07-2008 04:35 PM
Couple Of Problems. Shrimp Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-26-2007 12:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.