A couple of multiple hardrive setup questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seawolf

Baseband Member
I have the components ordered and on the way for my first pc build. You can see the parts I've ordered in this thread on page two if you wish.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/s...ilt-do-my-first-build-go-through-dell-224394/
The only change I made to that list was to add a second 160 gig harddrive. I plan to use that drive for my Windows 7 OS. The second 1tb drive will be for pictures, mp3's, games and apps.
Please keep a few things in mind. I've never built my own pc before, nor run multiple harddrives or even used partitions. So obviously when it was time for reformats in the past I lost everything.
I have a couple of (no doubt noob) questions that hopefully can be explained in simple terms.

1. When I install both harddrives during the build will I need to make any changes to the drives themselves like you do when installing mutiple optical drives and setting jumpers to master/slave?

2. What will I need to do during the first bootup to get the pc to recognize the 160 gig drive to be the main drive that I want the OS installed to and the 1 tb drive to be the secondary? I assume that it'll be somewhere in the bios but just want to make sure that I get things setup right the first time.

Thanks.

1)No, satas go in 1 cable per drive.

2)I've had an issue when I added a second drive, when I used SATA port 4 for my os, and had inadvertantly put myh data into port 2.

Installing the OS got wonky. I would have to disable the data drive in the BIOS before I could Install.

When you Install gthe OS it'll ask where you want to install it to, but if indoubt, don't connect your data drive till after the systems up and running.

Once you get this all running, youre gonna be laughing at yourself as its quite simple. But don't worry, everybody has to ask and start somewhere.

1) No, there are no master/slave jumpers on SATA drives.