Could someone reccomend a good motherboard with pci-express but not SLI. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 12:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default Could someone reccomend a good motherboard with pci-express but not SLI.

Im looking around for a good motherboard with pci-express but not in SLI. One card is good enough for me. I was looking at the Asus SLI premium before but now im not so sure because people say Asus and Amd dont mix well. I dont really want to spend that much on stuff im not going to use anyway.
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to ZeroStrife49
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136163

DFI nF-4 Ultra Infinity
__________________

__________________
K . D . M
ZeroStrife49 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Look at DFi motherboards.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Look at the ABITs with X2 support if you want to go AMD (everyone else here does). they are around $115 i think.
__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

ABIT is not a great brand IMO.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

DFI nf4 Ultra-D. Stick with the lanparty series.

Look into MSI too. Solid brand.

If short on cash, Gigabyte.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 02:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
ABIT is not a great brand IMO.
That's why you didn't recommend them in the first place.

Along with ABIT, I've had good luck with MSI in the past also.
BColes is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

ASUS has great boards, as well, as long as you don't want to overclock. Never an issue in 6 years with mine.

DFI is better for overclocking, from everything I have read lately.
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by F6Hawk
ASUS has great boards, as well, as long as you don't want to overclock. Never an issue in 6 years with mine.

DFI is better for overclocking, from everything I have read lately.
Asus are not however good at making boards for AMD processors. They are crap. However their good at making intel boards
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 04:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Asus are not however good at making boards for AMD processors. They are crap. However their good at making intel boards
Ok, just don't tell my AMD chip that, please.

And don't tell AMD that either, cuz they recommend several Asus mobos, and not DFI for any of their procs, that I found yet....

AMD Recommended Mobos
__________________

__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.