Could somebody finish this build for me? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2010, 12:29 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Could somebody finish this build for me?

Thanks for the input. Is there one similar board that has sli that you would recommend? I have another thread started called "to sli or not" and you'll see what my plans are. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Also, a more direct question. Why is the board you suggested better than the one i picked out, besides the USB3 i don't see much difference.

Kevin
__________________

kpat99 is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 01:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Could somebody finish this build for me?

SLI is an Nvidia exclusive on AMD boards, so if you want SLI you will have to use the Nvidia.

The board I recommended is basically the same board using the AMD 880G chipset.

Personally I would rather have a single more powerful card than a couple of lower cards running SLI/Crossfire.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default Re: Could somebody finish this build for me?

hey trotter, i'm now leaning more towards the motherboard you suggested. My only question is it says ram speeds of 1066, 1333, and 2000. My plan was to use 1600, if it does 2000 should it not also do 1600? Also, in the title it says crossfire ready, but i guess with a 16X and a 4X pci-e it would be a s***y crossfire setup wouldn't it???

thanks

Kevin
kpat99 is offline  
Old 10-01-2010, 12:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Could somebody finish this build for me?

Yes, it will do 1600. You will have to set the speed in the BIOS to get it exact.

The x4 might hamper throughput a bit, but it still puts through a lot. Here's a chart for you.



1.6 GBps in dual directions is still a lot of data being moved. While the x16 may be able to handle 6.4 GBps, no card on the market can saturate that much bandwidth.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-02-2010, 10:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 69
Default

A couple of slightly different asus boards right now. 790X chipset vs 880G chipset. Is it worth the extra 25 bucks? Motherboard1 Motherboard 2

Guy at CanadaComputers recommended this board for its overclocking capabilities...
kpat99 is offline  
Old 10-02-2010, 11:23 AM   #16 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Could somebody finish this build for me?

Both #1 and #2 are 790 boards. Of those two, I would go with #1.

Regarding the Gigabyte board, I would still go with #1 unless you just have to SATA6 and USB3.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build Finally Finish!! konvick619 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-12-2007 07:47 PM
Help me finish my build. lalala123 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-04-2006 12:27 PM
why should i finish F.E.A.R chickenNcheese PC Gaming 16 12-16-2005 11:44 AM
gotta finish my WCS Him Overclocking and Modding 0 06-23-2005 03:55 PM
Help finish an essay Stupid Off Topic Discussion 2 09-07-2004 12:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.