Could I sneak by??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 11:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Could I sneak by???

I am looking at a possible upgrade for my system. Do you think it would be possible to run this card with only a Antec 400w Smart Power PSU???

Also has anyone heard the official release date for Dx10?

Thanks for your time.:beard:
__________________

Brew_WY is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

dx10 is released with windows vista. so wait a few weeks.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Could I sneak by???

Quote:
Originally posted by 95_GSX
I am looking at a possible upgrade for my system. Do you think it would be possible to run this card with only a Antec 400w Smart Power PSU???

Also has anyone heard the official release date for Dx10?

Thanks for your time.:beard:
That card requires 450 watts and 30 amps on the 12v rail.

Your Psu is 400 watts and has 25 amps on the 12v rail...

So you would be cutting it close.. I wouldnt risk it.
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

DX10 might be released soon, but it may be a while before games start using it, specially since there seems to be certain opposition to Windows Vista.

That PSU has two +12V rails at 10A and 15A, and the card specs at Newegg state: "450-Watt power supply or greater, 30 Amps on 12 volt rail recommended (assumes fully loaded system)". That PSU has 25A combined on the +12V rails, so I'm unsure whether it will run the card.

Edit: it seems PanzerKammander got ahead of me, hehe. Now, you state the +12V rails have 31A combined. What are your references? I based my observations on this item. Is that your PSU, 95_GSX?

Edit2: lol, you edited while I was editing . I agree with your remark, though: it may run the card, but it's a risk.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default

Yes that is my PSU Meithan. Yeah I don't think its worth risking at the moment. My card is still doing decent. I will wait a while and see what happens with vista/Dx10 and card/game manufacturers.
Thanks again for the help guys. :beard:
Brew_WY is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

no, its not worth trying especially since you said your card is still doing decent. i kinda have the same problem as you, i have a geforce 6600 and i have been very eager to upgrade since it is also agp. but i WILL wait until dx10 comes out then i will upgrade videocard ram and mobo.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Alright:

evga 7950 gt ko $260
ozc 600w $125

total: $399 w/ shipping

You should see a good difference with that card. Then use evga's step up program later to get a 8800gts, and your set for new games and vista.

Hope that helps you out
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.