Could I Set Up RAID? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2011, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Jagged.Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default Could I Set Up RAID?

Although being slightly proficient with other tech-stuff, I still don't understand what RAID is.

And whether or not I could set it up with the SSD + Hard Drive I'm getting.

Could any y'all help?

My general understanding of RAID is that it combines your storage drives into a 'virtual' drive, allowing for easier data transfer, and faster transfer speeds? I doubt that's what RAID actually is, so could someone enlighten me?

And what would RAID actually do, in terms of improving system performance, etc?(Other parts I'm getting in my sig)

Here's the SSD:Newegg.com - OCZ Vertex 3 VTX3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
And The HDD: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD2002FAEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
Give me a rep point if I was helpful! (''Lil star in the bottom left corner)

Intel Core i7 2600k| Noctua DH-12 Cooler| Coolermaster HAF X Case| XFX Radeon HD 6970| Corsair Professional Series AX850 850w Modular| OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SATA III SSD| WD Caviar Digital Black 2TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache| 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 2133| Asus P8P67 EVO LGA 1155| Asus 24x Optical Drive
Jagged.Edge is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 10:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Could I Set Up RAID?

There are various types of RAID which serve different purposes but the type you are discussing is RAID 0.

Yes, technically you could put those two drives in RAID 0 but I wouldn't advise doing it. RAID works best when all of the drives in it are identical, in your situation it would basically cause horrible performance and if I'm not mistaken limit you to only using 120gb of the larger drive.

Essentially you don't want to put those drives in RAID 0 since the results won't be pretty.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NY USA
Posts: 384
Default Re: Could I Set Up RAID?

He is correct that if running raid-0 you will only have 240gb as you can use the 120 and 120 from the larger drive. This will make a large portion of the drive unusable. However I can confirm from experience that using two different drives as long as they are both 7200rpm will not degrade performance. It will improve it as the information written to and from the drives is striped. Since it only has to write half of the information to each drive it is in theory twice as fast.
__________________
Pentium D 935 @ 4.0ghz
AsRock g31
Kingston HyperX T1, 4gb
Radeon HD 5670 @ 860mhz gddr5
Antec High Current Gamer 520
InWin Br665 matx
CyberPower Green CP1500 900W UPS
Acer 20" G205hl
Camera Canon PowerShot SX10is
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
1) Be Respectful Treat other members as you would have them treat you. This means no flaming, insulting, or belittling other members.
Thomas is offline  
Old 07-20-2011, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Jagged.Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 73
Default Re: Could I Set Up RAID?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
There are various types of RAID which serve different purposes but the type you are discussing is RAID 0.

Yes, technically you could put those two drives in RAID 0 but I wouldn't advise doing it. RAID works best when all of the drives in it are identical, in your situation it would basically cause horrible performance and if I'm not mistaken limit you to only using 120gb of the larger drive.

Essentially you don't want to put those drives in RAID 0 since the results won't be pretty.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas View Post
He is correct that if running raid-0 you will only have 240gb as you can use the 120 and 120 from the larger drive. This will make a large portion of the drive unusable. However I can confirm from experience that using two different drives as long as they are both 7200rpm will not degrade performance. It will improve it as the information written to and from the drives is striped. Since it only has to write half of the information to each drive it is in theory twice as fast.
Okay, thanks for all the help.

I won't RAID my two drives. xD
__________________
Give me a rep point if I was helpful! (''Lil star in the bottom left corner)

Intel Core i7 2600k| Noctua DH-12 Cooler| Coolermaster HAF X Case| XFX Radeon HD 6970| Corsair Professional Series AX850 850w Modular| OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SATA III SSD| WD Caviar Digital Black 2TB 7200RPM 64MB Cache| 8GB (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 2133| Asus P8P67 EVO LGA 1155| Asus 24x Optical Drive
Jagged.Edge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WoW: Anatomy of a failed raid and a succesfull raid james.wired MMORPG Gaming 9 04-20-2010 11:47 PM
RAID Controller vs BIOS RAID and JBOD Question Antec-User Overclocking and Modding 0 08-29-2009 10:15 AM
Raid Data Recovery Software Raid To Raid Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-14-2009 12:34 PM
Another Raid 0 Question...with non-raid dual boot UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-02-2008 08:37 AM
RAID 0 Crash, displays one drive as Non-RAID aoizer0 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-18-2007 11:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.