could i do it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 02:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default could i do it?

i have 1000 dollars.. i can only build like around xmas cause it's gonna be my gift.. can i build a vista ready gaming machine for 1000?
__________________

__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

doubt it, vista itself will cost A LOT. unless of course if u get beta.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://uk.theinquirer.net/?article=32963

Go with what you know... XP. You can upgrade later
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

I built my rig for 1050 and I will be able to upgrade to vista.
-motherboard abit kn8 SLI ready
-cpu athlon 64 3500 venice core
-gfx card geforce 6600 256mb
-ram geil ddr2
-HD 200gig maxtor
-PSU cool max 450watt
that was like 7 months ago
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
... -PSU cool max 450watt
that was like 7 months ago
I'm surprised that isn't dead by now
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Why??? cause it's cool max??? or cause it's 450W?? Cool max makes some decent PSU's IMO... I've had this one for almost a year now and it's going strong...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

http://techist.com/showthread.php?th...hlight=%241000


The system I put together there will run Vista and all new games really fast.

You'll have to steal Vista though. lol
The General is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 07:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to 2fast4u
Default

im not gonna buy vista... ima "borrow" it... but do u think i can make a conroe system with 2 gigs of ram, etc.. for 1000??? i got a keyboard and monitor and dvd burner... i just need everything else... think it can be done??
__________________
2fast4u is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 56
Default

no point sitting here in july and trying to guess what will happen at the end of thsi year...by the end of this year things will have changed alot........so stop wasting ur ttime asking these questions now...technology moves fast..things will chgange by xmas time
deaduar3 is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Hes got a point. By then Conroe will be going strong and you will really be able to determine what you can buy then. Also, anything thats capable of running DX9 games pretty smoothly will be able to run Vista quite well. Just by then i hope you add a DX10 G80 or R600 to the mix. Then you will really be able to run Vista and its games. That is of course if you have everything else and your still "borrowing" it.
Quote:
I'm surprised that isn't dead by now
Used to power an OCed X2 3800+, OCed 6800GT, 2 HDs, DVD RW and CD RW, Live Drive and 7 fans plus 2 cathodes on an Antec 450watt smart power before i got my Ultra X-Connect. No problems at all.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.