Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2007, 03:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

....Mine won't go past 800, and if I set them to CAS 4 timings, it won't boot. I guess I got a pair of lemons, like nagasama use to say about his HZs.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

yeah, it happens to everyone and every company. like veebub says, it seems they have shipped some bad modules and gotten a bad rap for it. i dunno. i still suggest gskill, corsair, and crucial (based on your experience b1g)...depending on which is cheaper at the time. 50 bucks for that ram is pretty awesome. lol when i first bought my xms2 i think i paid $280 for 2gb.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 11:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

I was gonna buy it at my store but i thought.......... what happens if i combine different rams and overclocking?

so its probably better to get the same ram with the same specs when overclocking.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 12:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

yeah probably. but that corsair should hit the timings you have in your sig. most likely it owuld be okay. but i didnt mix mine.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair 520HX good enough for 8800gtx? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-11-2007 11:41 AM
RAM Comparison. Patriot, Corsair, Gskill OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-09-2007 11:22 AM
MSI K8N Neo4 w/ VS Corsair FlyingWizard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2007 07:49 AM
Decent hardware, poor gaming performance asciidic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 06-03-2007 06:24 AM
Corsair PSU sammybaines Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-10-2007 09:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.