Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 252
Default Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

This ram ->Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail


is currently 50 bucks AR at CompUSA is it a good overclocker?
__________________

__________________
Rawmaterial is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

The XMS2 series is very good. At $50, buy it.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 08:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

I have those for my e6400 build, and they can't overclock worth a you know what, beyond their stock speeds. But for $50, I guess that's a bargain.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 01:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

It's a good bargain. Go for it, I guess.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

If you're looking for a good overclocker I wouldn't go with those. They are nice and cheap though.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

hurumph! is what i say.
i just bought another gb to go with my previous 2gb, and they overclock o.k. im running them at about 920mhz. my cpu is not overclocked very much at the moment.
may squeak them out to 1000mhz. i dont think the set i just bought will oc as well as my 1st set, but for 50 bucks, they are definitely worth that much.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 02:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

I'm running 2gb of those and 2gb of ocz that are rated 4-4-4-12, the xms2 are rated at 5-5-5-15 and i have all 4 sticks running at 4-4-4-12. They are good memory. The only problem with the xms2's is that i have heard that there are quite a few defective units out on the market. They overclock just fine.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 03:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

heh changing the timings from 5-5-5-12 to 4-4-4-12 does not even count as an overclock to me no offense. Overclocking to me is when my ram goes from 800MHz 4-4-4-12 to 1100MHz 5-4-4-10 1:1. Thats an overclock.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 03:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

Grrrrrrr why don't they have any deals like this for ddr ram .

I would jump at those even though they don't overclock to great. Their 800 anyways so you can still overclock the cpu with them.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 03:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent?

I wasnt trying to say that going 4-4-4-12 is overclocking, im jsut saying that they are rated at 5-5-5-15 and will easily run 4-4-4-12. So far i have pushed them over 1000mhz with no problems.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair 520HX good enough for 8800gtx? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-11-2007 11:41 AM
RAM Comparison. Patriot, Corsair, Gskill OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-09-2007 11:22 AM
MSI K8N Neo4 w/ VS Corsair FlyingWizard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2007 07:49 AM
Decent hardware, poor gaming performance asciidic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 06-03-2007 06:24 AM
Corsair PSU sammybaines Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-10-2007 09:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.