Corsair Power Supply 750watt? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2007, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 25
Question Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Hey everyone, I am looking for a good power supply for my soon to be built computer.

I have found the CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX ATX12V / EPS12V 750W Power Supply. Is Corsair a reliable PSU company? I see it has 4 x PCI-E connectors which is great for me if i ever want to cross fire.

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX ATX12V / EPS12V 750W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CE, CB, TUV, FCC, CCC - Retail

It has a single 12v rail...I have seen other power supplies with 2 and 4 12v rails...is having more better?

I will be running a Q9450 on an Asus Maximus Board and hoping to crossfire. I will also be running with 4 gigs Gskill ram and possible 2 raptors.

I want a reliable power supply that will last me along time, that is future proof!
__________________

Racasdorph is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

750 watts is more than most ppl use, and Corsair makes pretty **** good power supplies is what people usually say.
__________________

__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 25
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Really? Do you know anything about 1 x 12v rail vs 4 x 12v rails?
Racasdorph is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 08:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

The corsair 550vx or 520 hx will be enough. I'm running a q6600 at 3.6ghz and 2 8800gt cards off of the 520. The penryn will be much less power hungry than my q6600, and also, dont buy the ati cards, as they are crap compared to the 8800GT.

As far as "future proof" power supplies go, everything right now is about as power hungry as possible. CPUs and GPUs are all getting more efficient. Unless you plan to run quad sli/crossfire, the 520hx will be enough.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 08:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

More rails is not better. In fact it has been found that a large single 12V rail is better than multiple smaller rails. Not "Much" better, but better still.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Multiple rails come in handy when you are running dual video cards and lots of hard drives. Multiple rails dont just add up to the combined total.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 08:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

overkill unless your SLi'ing Ultras or GTX'es or other high end cards with a quad core and LC.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 25
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Is overkill bad if money isnt an issue? when it comes to the price of power supplys... does it hurt the power supply if it is not ever pushed to 750?
Racasdorph is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Let me put it this way. The minimum you need for that build would be like a 520Watt Corsair HX.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-17-2007, 11:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: Corsair Power Supply 750watt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racasdorph View Post
Is overkill bad if money isnt an issue? when it comes to the price of power supplys... does it hurt the power supply if it is not ever pushed to 750?
If you're going to overkill, do it on the power supply. So it won't hurt at all. Probally will be nice on your electric bill, and will run cooler, hence less power needed to power the power supply (lulz) and wala, a cooler, faster, less power consuming PSU!

So yes good to overkill on PSU.
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Echo Star 600W 20+4 Pin ATX Power Supply commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-04-2007 07:21 PM
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.