Corsair H50?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2010, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Corsair H50??

So my computer recently went down the tube so I am upgrading to a Core i7 950, EVGA X58 SLI 3, G.Skill PI 3x2GB 1600 DDR3 and a Corsair H50.

What I would like to know is how far it is to bend the H50 tubes, because I have a Cooler Master CM690 Nvidia Edition and it doesn't have the best fan positioning for hooking up the H50...
So basically is it safe to bend them?
__________________

EoADark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Corsair H50??

You could look into getting a H70, I've heard the tubing is easier to position thanks to a redesign. Also works significantly better than the H50.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: Corsair H50??

Only problem is I have already opened it unless Micro Center takes them back, not sure...but that is about 30 miles away and the H70 is a bit out of budget.
But thanks for the quick reply
EoADark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Corsair H50??

Ok. It's fine to bend the tubes, so long as you don't kink them. The more you bend the tube the smaller the inner diameter of the tube gets, which means it's harder for the pump to push the water through, and less water will flow overall. Less water means less cooling abilities, which means less heat is transferred from your CPU.

Bottom line is, if the tube starts deforming from its usual cylindrical shape then you've bending it too much.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: Corsair H50??

Well, I think I will manage... I think it will work as long as i check the tubes every now and then...
EoADark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Corsair H50??

The H50 is quite underpowered for an i7 if you intend to overclock.

The tubes and block will work in alot of different ways for different setups. I think youll be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 11:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Corsair H50??

Spend a ton of money on your proc and 3 way SLi and you cheap out about as much as physically possible on a water cooling setup.

/sigh
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 01:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Corsair H50??

not everyone can man up and put water inside their computer, at least not like we do... a H50 will do the job just fine
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 02:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Corsair H50??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean W. View Post
not everyone can man up and put water inside their computer, at least not like we do... a H50 will do the job just fine
.....Unless he wants to overclock.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 09:47 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to EoADark
Default Re: Corsair H50??

That is the problem, I intend to overclock... :|
__________________

EoADark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
corsair XMS bum Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 08-10-2006 01:53 PM
corsair or oc? midi_junkie System Upgrades 10 03-16-2006 03:47 PM
Corsair System vs. Corsair Value Select jeelliso New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-06-2006 04:27 PM
Corsair vs. Ocz nuch130 Overclocking and Modding 29 07-09-2005 04:47 PM
RAM: Difference between Standard Corsair (PC3200) & Corsair CMX PRO (PC3200) ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 06-15-2004 10:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.