Corsair or generic? 1gb or 2? for my build (details inside) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2005, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Default Corsair or generic? 1gb or 2? for my build (details inside)

Here's what I have now:

GeForce FX 5700 256mb
P4 2.8ghz 800
1gb generic pc3200 (cant find a brand name)
P4TSE-D2 Biostart mb
30gb 5400rpm WD PATA

Here's what I've bought for my new system:

Video = Geforce FX 7800-SH gt 256
Motherboard = MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4
CPU = AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939
HDD = [2x] Western Digital Caviar SE WD800JD 80GB 7200 RPM (Plan on doing RAID 0)
PSU = TTGI Super-Flower PS-TT-550SS-4fans 550W

Now I need some RAM for my new system. I use my computer for gaming, and honestly, the system I've had was never really impressive. I always thought I woulda gotten more performance outta it for the $$ that I spent on it at the time of build. It just never seemed "right" to me. Most of my time is spent playing mainly DAOC, but sometimes some BF2, and HL2 mods. Don't underestimate DAOC, it can be a pretty taxing game with all the settings cranked up and in a highly populated area. I usually also have AVG, AIM, and Outlook Express runnin in the background as well.

Im lookin for pc3200 of course. Now, I've been told by a couple of ppl that 2gb of RAM is a waste. That I'll be fine with 1gb. I have 1gb now and I certainly thought I could use an upgrade, but my bottleneck may not be the RAM at all... I dunno. Thoughts?

Also... I've built 4-5 systems for myself, and I've never really splurged on good name-brand RAM. But the more I hear ppl talk about it, the more I wanna buy Corsair. I know it's always been good, but I was never really convinced it was worth it. Is Cas2 worth it, or is the Value Select 2.5 good enough? Thoughts?

Basically, here are my options, which would you recommend and why:

1gb (2x 512mb) Generic RAM = $61
1gb (2x 512mb) Corsair Value Select = $74
1gb (2x 512mb) Corsair XMS = $133
2gb (2x 1024mb) Generic RAM = $122
2gb (2x 1024mb) Corsair Value Select = $148
2gb (2x 1024mb) Corsair XMS = $266

cgcaver is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765

Generic will probably end up being Samsung, or another OEM manufacturur. Unless you plan on overclocking, it doesn't matter what RAM you really get. However, I'd stick to a brand that puts warranties on its stuff, like OCZ. But yeah, generic ram should do you fine

septoid2 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 11:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
TheOtis's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis

Well since youre a gamer and you said that you play BF2 and whatnot, i would HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend you getting

2gb (2x 1024mb) Corsair XMS = $266

Ive heard many people say they've noticed a difference when useing 2 gigs during bf2 and whatnot. Even my computer teacher told me he saw a difference for bf2.

From what I know the type of ram you have wont really matter.But for gameing i really suggest you getting good matched pair of 2x1gig like OCZ like I have for dual channel.

EDIT: And the liftetime warranty is great.
EDIT: And also make sure and get good brand name memory if you plan to OC.
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765

What difference does it make if his timings are better if hes not overclocking?
septoid2 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 11:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave

I'd go with XMS 1 GB, unless of course you wanted to play bf2 on max setting with low loading times, I guess 2 gigs would be more efficiant. If your not playing bf2 as your main game, 1 gig is perfectly fine.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 10:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426

If you can afford 2 gigs, get 2. Works out a lot better for BF2 and you'll be ready for the future and you can wave goodbye to the people who think 1gig is fine. At what point do you say 2 gigs is the standard for higher end systems? At this point right here.

I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.