corsair 667MHZ or supertalent 800MHZ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default corsair 667MHZ or supertalent 800MHZ?

Which is a better buy? I'm wondering now if I should call and change the corsair 667 MHZ to supertalent 800 MHZ. Both would be 2gigs and the 800MHZ is like 38 dollars more. Is super talent a reliable namebrand and should I make the upgrade or just stay with the corsair 667?
__________________

cementshoes is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default

also should I get a floppy disk drive? I can't imagine why but it's only 7 dollars.
__________________

cementshoes is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 04:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Unless you're overclocking, 667Mhz memory provides enough bandwidth. I've never heard of "supertalent", so I can't really say anything about its reliability (or lack of). Corsair memory is excellent.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default

Thanks, i'll just leave the order as is. And I won't be overclocking, I'm hoping my system will run well enough w/o it.
cementshoes is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 05:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 337
Default

Corsair's usually pretty good, but I've also seen some pretty **** good reviews on some of the Supertalent sticks. It's a toss-up. Personally...I would go with the Corsair sticks cause 667 would be fine for you.
Jrod is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

my memory is kick arse.
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 01:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

800
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 03:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default

I heard that super talent is pretty **** good, really fast. I almost bought it myself.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I've never heard of Super Talent before. Personally I'd stick with Corsair. Memory is probably the single most heavily used component in your computer and it needs to be dependable. I'd go with a good brand like Corsair on Kingston any day even if it's a bit slower. A little loss of speed sure beats having to shell out for two more sticks after a couple of years I say.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.