Corsair 520 PSU??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2007, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Corsair 520 PSU???

I got a corsair 520 psu and I was wondering how you rma it and if I should because Iam not sure if it can handle a q6600 and a 8800 GTX or a 9800 series in december with 2gb of ram

Should I RMA it? Or keep it?

I want to overclock everything I possibly can lolz.

My system specs are:

q6600 g0
gygabite ds3r mobo or asus p5k
sony dvd drive
500gb hard drive
crucial 2gb
8800GTX or 9800GTX
Tuniq tower
Antec 900 or some other case
and finally corsair 520 psu or rma it and get another.

What are your opinions on the build and PSU compatability
__________________

MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

RMA and go for a PCP&C 610.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

You should be fine if it has dual 12v rails. Those cards you have mentioned only require about 400w - 450w at max. In my opinion and from past experiences, I would think you should be fine, but if in any doubt and if you really want to waste the time RMA(ing) (which I have found to take some time), you could always go for a larger PSU. If I were in your place I would probably keep the psu, because as I mentioned before, it meets the recommended specs.

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

it'll work.. but get a PC power and cooling 610 silencer
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

How do I RMA?
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

Did you order from Newegg?

::-Chase-::
Chase is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

put it back in the box and return it?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

I got it like uhmm a month and half to two months ago

I think iam gonna need to buy a box


If I keep it will it work or will it have problems
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

I bought it from buy.com
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Re: Corsair 520 PSU???

You should be able to find out somewhere on buy.com, just search around. You shouldn't have problems with this psu anyway...some people just like to take it that extra step of reassurance by buying a psu far larger than what is required...

::-Chase-::
__________________

Chase is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair XMS 2 x GB decent? Rawmaterial New Systems | Building and Buying 13 08-26-2007 12:06 PM
Corsair 520 PSU for $79.99 decibaL Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 08-16-2007 12:02 PM
Corsair 520HX good enough for 8800gtx? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 15 07-11-2007 11:41 AM
RAM Comparison. Patriot, Corsair, Gskill OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 17 07-09-2007 11:22 AM
MSI K8N Neo4 w/ VS Corsair FlyingWizard Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-11-2007 07:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.