Corrupt file? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2006, 01:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default Corrupt file?

I have recently downloaded the new BF2 Patch (1.3 I think it is), the total size of it is 438mb.
I have a Maxtor 40gb HDD with only like 400mb space left (fixing that problem at the moment) and I recently bought a Seagate 250gb HDD space with like 220gb space left with a 16mb cache. I moved the patch to the new seagate drive and then tried to boot it up, however it wont run the program, it will just hang there lagging the **** out of my computer... i then go to task manager and it reads that the cpu usage is at 100%. Everything runs slow and sometimes the only way to ressurect the problem is to restart the computer at the switch.

Does this mean the file is corrupt. Originally I thought it was that I didn't have enough space to run the program, but when I moved it to the bigger HDD and it still didnt run, then I got a little concerned.

Please help me out here!

Michael
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

I think you need to have the patch installed on the same hard drive as the game.
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

The 1.4 patch is out now


yeah u need the patch on the same hard drive

I dont know if u have upgraded your computer lately or u just havnt changed your specs its just i dont think you would be able to play bf2 with a fx5200 128mb
atopork is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

just haven't updated my specs
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Why would you post this here?
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 04:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

Where else am I supposed to post it? (not trying to be smart, just asking for an opinion). So without turning this thread into a massive argument I'll continue on to my further problem which has just presented itself.

I've freed up some space on my old 40gb Maxtor HDD, so now it has 11gb free and I also transferred the file back over to the same drive as my BF2 game.

So the Hard-drives look like the following:
Seagate 250gb = 225gb free
Maxtor 40gb = 11gb free

I again tried to install the file....

The file still won't load (regardless of whether it is the latest patch or not I don't care), but all I want to know is why it would load? Is it a hardware problem? or a software problem? is it fixable? Or do I just have to download the patch again? I ask this so I know what to do next time it happens

Thanks,

Michael
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

bump?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

help by anyone?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.