Correct Cpu With Gpu - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2006, 12:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
Well, if you want to get to 4.1Ghz, you are going to have to get water cooling. It just gets too hot. The FSB is what you change for overclocking. Change the FSB from 533Mhz to 800Mhz and BAM! 4.0Ghz processor.

However, there are a lot of other things to consider with overclocking. You will need to get a good overclockable motherboard, RAM, and a good power supply. You also have to know what you're doing. Don't want to screw something up, and have it cost you a new system.

If you would like to stick with AMD, why not go with an Opteron? They can be overclocked quite well, too.
My suggestion is the Opteron 165...of course it is also $327.00 at newegg but it will give you the most bang for your buck..especialy if you want to experiment w/ OCing...if you want to go in the cheaper side of things you could always go for the Opteron 144 Venus 1000MHz HT 1MB L2 Cache for $170.00 at newegg as well.

So the real question is will you be willing to pay nearly double the price for a dual core or would you rather pay less for a good cheaper proc. Both are great processors that both recieved great reviews and decent benchmarks...might i ask what you are runnung on this machine of yours?
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 12:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sw_freak64
My suggestion is the Opteron 165...of course it is also $327.00 at newegg but it will give you the most bang for your buck..especialy if you want to experiment w/ OCing...if you want to go in the cheaper side of things you could always go for the Opteron 144 Venus 1000MHz HT 1MB L2 Cache for $170.00 at newegg as well.
Well, seeing as the Pentium D 805 is $127 on Newegg, and when overclocked can beat out the FX-60. And plus, it too is Dual-Core, and if I remeber correctly, 64-bit. I would say that CPU is the best bang for the buck, in an overclocking view.

But for him, this isn't really possible unless he upgrades his motherboard.
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default

So tell me whats wrong with that motherboard? Yeah Intel is alright with me, that 805 sounds nice for my budget. Is it easy to overclock with intel and what board do u suggest with that cpu?

I will probably be running fear, bf2 and oblivion.

Thanks for being helpful guys. I appreciate it.
__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 06:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

First of all blewandowski_69 i do believe that AMD is MUCH better than Intel..it can handle many more processes than Intel and is much more versitile and supports many diff types of Multimedia Instructions as well. And to my knowledge the Pentium D CAN OC to an FX-60 bench BUT you will end up spending ALOT of money on a cooling system be it a Zalaman CPU cooler/fan or a liquid cooling system, so would you rather spend more money on a proc that you DONT have to OC and use the stoch AMD cooler or spend less on a PENTIUM :P proc and much more on a cooling system, your choice!!

Also consider the reviews on a AMD proc being used on games vs. Intel. Intel is great for commercial (buisness) use i.e. spreadsheets, powerpoint pres., etc....but AMD was BUILT for multimedia/ gaming from the begining!! Jus t take that into consideration when you pay your Newegg bill!!!
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 07:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

I would go with the opteron 144 myself, you can oc it very far with stock cooling and no voltage increase. Increase the voltage a little and a TT Big Typhoon for example you're looking at least 2.6-2.8Ghz.

Unless of course you get a complete dud, but the chance are very small, mainly because of the great success i heard when people oc these things.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Since you have a AMD mobo wait for the AM2 Processors these new ones will drive down the costs of the current processors so you can probably get a better one then cheaper. A member said AMD Processors were already going to be released May 23.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AnthraX
Get the Pentium 4 805 and overclock it like crazy. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116001

Tomshardware.com got it to 4.1Ghz stable.
Have you seen how much voltage it takes to get that chip to 4.1ghz? It's well within the range that will fry that type of chip within a few months.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 09:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
Since you have a AMD mobo wait for the AM2 Processors these new ones will drive down the costs of the current processors so you can probably get a better one then cheaper. A member said AMD Processors were already going to be released May 23.
Yeah, I agree with that. However, it may take a little while for 939's to go significantly down in price.

I really don't recommend that Pentium D. Like curtcheese64 said, it will take a lot of voltage to get that processor to around 4.0Ghz.

I say just got with an Opty 144 or 146. You can easily get it overclocked quite easily on stock cooling.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 10:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Even if it's just a bit AM2 is a few days away so just wait a week or so.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 05-19-2006, 04:54 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Even if you get an 805 you take the chance of not getting the correct stepping and product code. And if you've got a 7900gt you're gonna be gaming, so save yourself the headache and get an Opteron.
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.