Coretemp confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2007, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Coretemp confusion

Salute!
I downloaded Coretemp (the Vista64 version) and it shows my cores to read (right now at idle) 56, 54, 51, 52. Which I don't think is a bad idle for stock cooling and OC'd to 2.8ghz. But when I open my PCprobe it tells me my CPU is running at 45c. I've been doing some overclocking and stress testing using the pcprobe and have seen it get as high as 69c running Orthos.
Which should I trust? That little voice in the back of my mind is telling me to play it safe and use the Coretemp because I've used pcprobe before and it's a crack riddled program if I've ever used one but I thought I'd get some opinions.
My system is:
Q6600 G0 stepping
Asus P5N32-E sli
Nvidia 7800GTX (x1)
4gig Crucial ddr2 6400
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

I have the same CPU as you and mine is also OC'd to 2.8 GHz on stock (can't afford a better cooler yet). Anyway I have a similar problem, the program that came on my mobo's driver disk reads lower temps than Core Temp. However considering how it isn't safe for a Q6600 to go over 71*C and how everyone here seems to trust Core Temp, I use its readings just to play it safe instead of my mobo's program.
__________________

__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

First and foremost, look at the temp in the BIOS, because that will be the most accurate. Try some other monitoring programs such as Everest or Speedfan.

You need better cooling or to reduce your OC as well if your getting temps up at 69*C.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 01:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

J9Darkwing, Did you use thermal paste like AS5 or MX-2? I did and my temps never go higher than 60.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
J9Darkwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

Thanks MetalOwns, I'll look into Everest. I tried speedfan and got some very confusing readings so I went back to the cooltemp. For some reason I can't use CPUz because when I turn it on it somehow deactivates the monitoring of most of my cpu fans. They still run but I get a big 0 for their rpms in pcprobe and they disappear completely in the bios and I have to reset it manually.

Blitersety I could have sworn I had some AS5 around here from my last built but I couldn't find it so I just left whatever hs paste came with the cpu on it. I'm going to order some as5 next Friday when I order my hsf. I'm considering going with the Zalman 7900. I have very good airflow through my case so I may go with the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme. I thought I saw somewhere that people mount a fan on the 120E so I may do that but I'll have to read more about it first. I already have 5 120mm fans on my case so I'm thinking there should be plenty of airflow. I still have one extra fan and two more fan power points on my mb so if I need to mount one on the 120E I can.
__________________
~~~~~~~Salute!~~~~~~~ Darkwing
www.nightowlremote.com
J9Darkwing is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalOwns View Post
First and foremost, look at the temp in the BIOS, because that will be the most accurate. Try some other monitoring programs such as Everest or Speedfan.

You need better cooling or to reduce your OC as well if your getting temps up at 69*C.
Actually Coretemp is a better reading than the BIOS...TAT and or Coretemp.

However understand that there is technically 3 different temps you can see for a Dual-core. Coretemp measures the actual 2 Core's inside of the chip while BIOS, Speedfan and others measure the whole chip itself which tends to be lower than the actual chips themselves. I go by the actual chip itself which is usually around 53-54 for me max load. while my core's are 63-68. I would say keep the core's under 70 and you will be fine.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-11-2007, 12:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Coretemp confusion

Everest measures all three temps...so does speedfan, albeit not accurately on my computer. The cores and CPU temp are normally right around each other anyway (within 2-3 degrees)...for me at least
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Confusion SmellyOne Overclocking and Modding 2 10-22-2007 01:50 AM
Ram install confusion ( yes I know ) Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-22-2007 11:22 PM
Further confusion, Tuniq tower related Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 14 07-21-2007 06:33 PM
OEM confusion Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 16 07-20-2007 05:25 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.