Core stepping question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Core stepping question

What is the difference between b3 and G0 Core stepping on the q6600? Is one faster/better than the other?
__________________

IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Core stepping question

The G0 is the later stepping for the Q6600. It consume less power so it overclocks better.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Core stepping question

If you order one from newegg now is there any chance you could get a B3?
900RR is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Core stepping question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 900RR View Post
If you order one from newegg now is there any chance you could get a B3?
You might get the G0 but there is no guarantee.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Core stepping question

Well the g0 stepping from tiger is 100 extra bucks. It comes with a fan but it most likely sucks. I'll just go with the b3. Thanks for the help.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Core stepping question

Actually its Stepping B, Revision G0, where the Old ones are stepping 7 revision B3.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 02:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Core stepping question

I believe Clubit.com gurantees G0 stepping.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 04:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Core stepping question

yeah they do. if you can get it for the same price i'd say go for it. my b3 is a furnace XD sure isnt worth 100 extra though.

ClubIT Product - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 Stepping Kentsfield 2.40GHz 8MB L2 LGA 775 Processor Retail BX80562Q6600 SLACR
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: Core stepping question

I'm investing 60 bucks in the big typhoon Cooler. Should be ok for my needs even with the b3 stepping.
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Core stepping question

Q6600 is $3 more at clubIT than at newegg but I think it's worth that to be assured a G0 stepping
__________________

900RR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about what to worry about cpu temp or core temp? zerodayATK Overclocking and Modding 2 12-19-2007 06:53 AM
SATA and Core 2 Duo Question spinard New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-03-2007 12:58 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.