Core i7 temps - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2009, 09:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Question Core i7 temps

I hope i have this in the right place if not I apologize.
I recently recieved a new core i7 system and was wondering what peoples experience has been with variations in core temps.
I seem to not be finding the info online and wanted user experience vs manufacturer because I have found they often say "bah thats fine" to just about anything thats still running and has not quit yet lol
MSI X58 Platinum
VISTA Home 64
Core i7 920 2.6 stock cooling
3 Gigs DDR3 A-Data 1333
Samsung Sata 2
Super Writemaster
Geforce 9500GT 1 Gig PCI 16X
Raidmax Sagitta

Running real temps i get the following
#0 32c #1 33c #2 38c and #3 33c BIOS shows 39c only gives 1 temp.
it bounces on core #2 from 5-7c above the rest.
I have tried checking processes and threads but it does not show usage on that core at the time.
under full load playing Crysis or Witcher it never goes over 47-48 c
and they seem to balance out a bit more.
anyone had any experience with this? any input is appreciated.
Thank you
Atech
__________________

Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Core i7 temps

What cooler?
__________________

Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Core i7 temps

HEY! we are in the same boat :P I've used the stock cooler and an aftermarket one. With both coolers my core#2 stays about 5-7 above the rest too. Same thing about full load too-whenever it gets to full load it's usually just about 2-3 higher.

I don't know if it's bad sensor, bad mounting, bad paste application, or what...I wouldn't worry to much about it though
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default

Stock Intel, seems to be doing its job but why the one is 5-7 c hotter I dunno.
It may be normal for the Corei7 but i want someone to tell me it is normal to put my paranoid self at ease lol

OK excellent THANKS Waffle
It may just be the nature of the beast I guess, but i had to see someone say it.
Mine does exactly the same thing as yours.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Tenenbaum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 359
Send a message via MSN to Tenenbaum
Default Re: Core i7 temps

Make sure your heat sink is properly mounted.
Also, those temperatures seem fine.
Tenenbaum is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 09:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default

"Roger that" thanks :happy:

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock


BTW NICE SPECS!! I am looking forward to the upgrades as i can afford them but had to start somewhere
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Core i7 temps

You could lap your heatsink for better contact. I doubt you want to lap the i7, seeing as how they are brand new and cost so much.

You didn't say what thermal paste you used. A good thermal paste can shave off a couple of degrees. Contrary to the urban myth, Arctic Silver 5 is not the best on the market. Look for MX2 if you are using the paste that came on the stock heatsink.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 10:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Core i7 temps

You could lap your heatsink for better contact. I doubt you want to lap the i7, seeing as how they are brand new and cost so much.

You didn't say what thermal paste you used. A good thermal paste can shave off a couple of degrees. Contrary to the urban myth, Arctic Silver 5 is not the best on the market. Look for MX2 if you are using the paste that came on the stock heatsink.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: Core i7 temps

Yup good guess.. lol i had the everlasting tube of Arctic Silver but i did notice that i got the same exact temps before as after i checked and reseated it.
I think I'll wait alittle while and see what it does since 5-7c variations seem to be normal i can't complain about 48c max gaming from what I am seeing.
I did contact NewEgg for the heck of it and the tech there said he has seen upward of 70c to 80c under load? with no problems?. that kinda freaks me out Jesus thats hot.
I thought i misheard him at first but he repeated it.
Anyone want me to heat some Burritto's while I play Crysis?
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 01:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Core i7 temps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atech66 View Post
Yup good guess.. lol i had the everlasting tube of Arctic Silver but i did notice that i got the same exact temps before as after i checked and reseated it.
I think I'll wait alittle while and see what it does since 5-7c variations seem to be normal i can't complain about 48c max gaming from what I am seeing.
I did contact NewEgg for the heck of it and the tech there said he has seen upward of 70c to 80c under load? with no problems?. that kinda freaks me out Jesus thats hot.
I thought i misheard him at first but he repeated it.
Anyone want me to heat some Burritto's while I play Crysis?

eh...with stock cooler and it at full load mine got around 68C..after that i lowered the voltage. I managed to lower them from 1.29 auto to 1.01
which dropped the temp some..so you could try lowering yours if you want
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 Will Self Overclock maroon1 Polls 0 08-20-2008 01:53 PM
9550 core problem Nagasama New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-15-2008 02:00 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
Core Temp or Easytune 5? for temps advancedgeek Overclocking and Modding 2 07-27-2007 11:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.