Core i7 doesn't perform properly - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2010, 07:43 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
^**** yes.
By how much? I searched google but everybody says it's better but by exactly how much? 1.5x as fast? 2x as fast?
__________________

__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 03:25 AM   #22 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Sorry, I can't give you an exact spec on how much faster it is, never bothered to check really lol. All I can say is I forgot to change my rig over from IDE when I first set it up, and then when I changed it to what it should have been in the first place I was amazed at the difference. Trust me, it's worth doing. If you decide to do it, do a few hdd benchmarks before and after the change and see for yourself!

It's not only the speed that's good about it, you can also now eject/swap drives while the pc is running like you would with any external drive.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 04:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

So I would need to format my drive, then make the switch in BIOS and then install Windows; Correct?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:03 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

That's the recommended thing to do, start fresh. However, I don't think you have have have to format/reinstall.
I seem to remember when I did it I didn't bother, but then I formatted and reinstalled a day later anyway (I was experimenting with raptor RAIDs and me mobos proprietary "ultra speed!" (lol) settings among other things).
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 07:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

i didnt notice much of a diff from IDE to AHCI at all...

I switched to AHCI when i got my new hdd, and havent noticed really any difference in speed lol
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-10-2010, 09:24 PM   #26 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

^You'll probably notice a bigger difference on faster hdds
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-12-2010, 03:48 AM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

AW crud, Mine is set to IDE almost did a reinstall but figured the issue out and got every thing running good now lol looks like I'm back to a reinstall.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i5 duals to launch January 3rd Fat.Clown New Technology and Products 9 10-27-2009 01:12 PM
Intel Quad core vs Intel core i7 Dakhathsk System Upgrades 11 12-24-2008 12:59 AM
Core i7 vs Core 2 Quad StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 26 12-20-2008 07:46 AM
Great single core> Average dual core? jeller System Upgrades 17 11-28-2007 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.