Core i7 doesn't perform properly - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2010, 12:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Ok, so just UNCHECK the box, that says the number of processors.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 12:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

wtf, why would you set that manually anyway? Did clearing it work?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 12:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Holy smokess guys, it actually worked. I was backing up my shiz getting ready for a format and after unchecking that box and doing a restart:



You have no idea how relieved I am now!
CHEERS !!!
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 12:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

^So uh, WHY are you manually setting the number of processors?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 12:48 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

I read an article on Lifehacker that Windows only boots up on one core and you manually need to set it to the maximum cores that you have. It seemed that it was bogus and they made a post to apologize:

"...This bogus tip made the rounds recently and almost everybody got caught including Lifehacker and big brother site Gizmodo... although commenters called it out quickly on both sides, and the editors updated the posts. (That's yet another reason to always participate in the comments here.) According to this tip, you were supposed to use MS Config to modify the "Number of processors" drop-down on the Boot tab. The problem is that this setting is only used for troubleshooting and debugging, to be able to determine if there is a problem with a single processor, or for a programmer to test their code against a single core while running on a multi-core system. Windows will use all your processors by default without this setting."

Thanks for pointing that out to me because I checked that box a while back when I read the bogus post.

+ Rep for all of you who helped solve this problem.
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 08:08 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Your cpu is working properly. All your pictures are showing the correct settings.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 05:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
On an unrelated note: Since you're going to be formatting and starting again anyway, make sure that you set your drives to AHCI mode (as opposed to IDE)
Since I am not formatting anymore should I still enable AHCI? Is it better than IDE?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 05:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

You need to enable AHCI before you install your operating system.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 05:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

Would AHCI be a significant improvement over IDE ?
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 01-09-2010, 07:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,668
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Core i7 doesn't perform properly

^**** yes.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i5 duals to launch January 3rd Fat.Clown New Technology and Products 9 10-27-2009 01:12 PM
Intel Quad core vs Intel core i7 Dakhathsk System Upgrades 11 12-24-2008 12:59 AM
Core i7 vs Core 2 Quad StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 26 12-20-2008 07:46 AM
Great single core> Average dual core? jeller System Upgrades 17 11-28-2007 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.