core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2008, 08:08 AM   #21 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

why are you going for old technology...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:26 AM   #22 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rave_tech View Post
hmmmm is the 3870x2 faster than 2x4850? or 4870x2?

its still probably an advantage to do sli 2x8800GT over 1 single 3870x2 tho...right?


know anyone trying to sell a 3870x2?
3870s aren't faster, they just get really good 3dmark scores. The 4870 is tons faster. Don't let 3dmark fool you. 3000 series cards are really only useful if you are trying to go for a wicked 3dmark score. Otherwise stick with the 4000 series.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:47 AM   #23 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

I was just reading this..: How Windows Vista drags Core i7 down | News | TechRadar UK
StealthTools is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:02 AM   #24 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Microsoft will have it fixed soon enough. I would say you could probably just get away with turning off hyper threading if you really wanted to. But even with a 10% hit, core i7 is still faster than core 2.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:31 PM   #25 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rave_tech View Post
hmmmm is the 3870x2 faster than 2x4850? or 4870x2?

its still probably an advantage to do sli 2x8800GT over 1 single 3870x2 tho...right?


know anyone trying to sell a 3870x2?
Chances are my 4830's in Crossfire outperform the 3870x2

Go with 2x4850, get one now, and another one later for crossfire.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

or... get a gtx260 core 216 like i said in the beginning!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:57 PM   #27 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

GTX 295 is dual 260's with unlocked shaders? Since each card has 240 shaders. doesn't that mean the GTX 295 = 2xGTX 280?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

I think their bus width is still only 448 w/ 896MB of ram
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:00 PM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

yup still 448bus and 896 per card instead of 1gb.. so the way i look at it... its either a gtx260 on crack... or a drug addict rehab gtx280
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 09:26 PM   #30 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

poo not a gtx260. I don't see why everyone recommends them. I can see why you like em Nos, for the 3dmark and crysis scores. But otherwise ati is the smart choice.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
CPU help. Can some one explain them? White_Wolf System Upgrades 8 07-25-2008 08:49 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.