core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2008, 11:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Ooo didn't see that but by going via this article the retail version is limited
Conclusion--Screaming Fast With Overclocking "Protection" : Intel's Core i7: Blazing Fast, But Crippled O/C

Reviewers may of got a different cpu or motherboard firmware
Tomshardware is stupid. Anandtech was able to get an awesome OC. Just another reason why you should stop reading Tom's Hardware.


Further more, the voltage thing is not an issue. You have to keep the memory voltage within .5v of the MHC voltage. If you do that you can safely take it well above 1.6v
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 11:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
Tomshardware is stupid. Anandtech was able to get an awesome OC. Just another reason why you should stop reading Tom's Hardware.


Further more, the voltage thing is not an issue. You have to keep the memory voltage within .5v of the MHC voltage. If you do that you can safely take it well above 1.6v
so i am safe right now at 3.8 ghz @ 1.3875 v?

temps sometimes get around 65 at load is that ok?

also how do i clock the pci-express properly?

i ran 3dmarkvantage and got 43,500 for the cpu LOL thats fast alot of people have 29,000 roughly.....i was like ****.....
__________________

__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Don't mess with the PCIe frequency. It really doesn't help that much.

Are you using stock cooling? 65C is higher than I like, but if that's stock cooling then its no big deal. Just get a 3rd party cooler before you go any farther.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 03:46 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rave_tech View Post
so i am safe right now at 3.8 ghz @ 1.3875 v?

temps sometimes get around 65 at load is that ok?

also how do i clock the pci-express properly?

i ran 3dmarkvantage and got 43,500 for the cpu LOL thats fast alot of people have 29,000 roughly.....i was like ****.....
that is with the help of physx my friend not just ur cpu
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 07:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

unless your watercooling, theres no way you're getting 65 load
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

i have a funnel........that leads out of the case.....and the fan is set to 100% all the time..!! its like 65 cfm i believe....

here are the video card results i have gotten today, tell me if these are normal....

1 x 8800 GT = HDR - 5741 SM 2.0 - 4875
2 x 8800 GT(SLI) = HDR - 8261 SM2.0 - 7947

1 x 3870x2 = HDR - 8091 SM2.0 - 8053
1 x 3870x2 (OC'd) = HDR - 8297 SM2.0 - 8241

what the??? the ATI card is as good as both my 8800GT's??

i bet if i ran crossfire it would be worth 14k ****!!

what would you do?


plus the cooling on the ATI is much better, its directed out of the case, there is no way for all that heat to go into the case as its sealed and takes up 2 case slots to exhaust the temps.....

wow!
__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:42 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

hrm.. plenty of us said to get just 1 gtx260 core 216... would have been the smart choice
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 10:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

I wanna see those screenshots of the i7 at 100% load @ 65C
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 12-09-2008, 11:18 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rave_tech View Post
i have a funnel........that leads out of the case.....and the fan is set to 100% all the time..!! its like 65 cfm i believe....

here are the video card results i have gotten today, tell me if these are normal....

1 x 8800 GT = HDR - 5741 SM 2.0 - 4875
2 x 8800 GT(SLI) = HDR - 8261 SM2.0 - 7947

1 x 3870x2 = HDR - 8091 SM2.0 - 8053
1 x 3870x2 (OC'd) = HDR - 8297 SM2.0 - 8241

what the??? the ATI card is as good as both my 8800GT's??

i bet if i ran crossfire it would be worth 14k ****!!

what would you do?


plus the cooling on the ATI is much better, its directed out of the case, there is no way for all that heat to go into the case as its sealed and takes up 2 case slots to exhaust the temps.....

wow!
3dmark loves the Radeon 3000 cards.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 08:04 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: core i7 does not display cpu speed in windows...why?

hmmmm is the 3870x2 faster than 2x4850? or 4870x2?

its still probably an advantage to do sli 2x8800GT over 1 single 3870x2 tho...right?


know anyone trying to sell a 3870x2?
__________________

__________________

Corei7 920 OC'd 3.4 ghz @ 1.375 v (6409 3dmarks)
Gigabyte UD5 x58 MB
G.Skill 3x1 GB DDR3 1333 OC'd 1550 @ 1.575 v
2 x GeForce 8800GT 16x16 2.0 SLI OC'd 650 mhz
Western Digital Black HD 32MB Cache 640GB

rave_tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
CPU help. Can some one explain them? White_Wolf System Upgrades 8 07-25-2008 08:49 AM
friends log Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 11 11-25-2007 10:27 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.