Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2009, 01:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

I'm in the midst of creating a home theatre PC
Its purpose is to output videos to my HDTV
Others include extracting / compressing rar files
It will be downloading files from iTunes, Netflix and such

Basically, I will be doing a lot of multitasking both in internet and PC

How much RAM should I be aiming for?
__________________

__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

For a lot of multitasking, you're going to want more power, so you would go with the i7. That uses triple channel RAM, so you'd go with 6 GB. I would get a Phenom II x4 940 over a core2quad. It is a better bang for your buck.

Still, I think for an HTPC, you don't need that much power. If you aren't doing any more multitasking than what you listed, I would go with either:

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 940 Deneb 3.0GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 125W Quad-Core Black Edition Processor - Processors - Desktops

or to save money:

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 720 2.8GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Black Processor - Processors - Desktops

No one buys core 2 quads anymore. An i7 setup is going to cost you a lot more than any HTPC should, so I really advise against going that route.

Edit: Btw, anyone know when they renamed the 920 to Bloomfield from Nilhelm? Is it because of the D0 stepping revision or something
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

Dang that's a lot of power for an HTPC. I have two HTPCs in my place, the primary powers my 1080p 42" in the tv room and it's an X2 3600+, 2GB RAM and 8600gts and I've never had a problem running HD through there or with multitasking.

My second is an X2 4200+ with onboard video and yeah, at times it chugs a bit with multitasking but as for video playback, no problems at all on 720p 37" LCD.

If all you're planning is multitasking then yeah, as mentioned above...any gaming? I know my primary htpc is a backup game comp for my annual LAN party but that's only 3 days a year. Will need a gpu upgrade this year.

I just picked up an AMD 2300BE for my next htpc off the classifieds for $25. Looking to build the HTPC for under $150 (HD not included).
jfenwick is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

my htpc is a a64 4000+ with a 7800gtx, 2gb of ram and it does just fine outputting to a 40" 1080p.

Sure I do all of my heavy work on my i7 but for playback, websurfing and casual gaming it works just fine.

i7 is too much power for an htpc in my book.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 02:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

my htcp is a crappy athalon XP with 512mb of ram, running on win 7 o_0
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
If all you're planning is multitasking then yeah, as mentioned above...any gaming? I know my primary htpc is a backup game comp for my annual LAN party but that's only 3 days a year.
I'm planning to have my laptop control my HTPC
I don't even plan on having my HTPC to have a monitor
I'm just going to set it up to be up and running
Hide it behind the desk and remote into it when I want to watch movies

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
my htcp is a crappy athalon XP with 512mb of ram, running on win 7 o_0
The main issue I need a powerful processor is processing compressed file.
A 16gb file takes about 20 minutes to uncompress with a Pentium 4
In my Core 2 Duo laptop, it slashes it down to less than half of that
I could only imagine what a Core 2 Quad (or athlon phenom)
I mainly want this computer to function as an HTPC and a server
Load some backups to it, compressing, uncompressing files

Any suggestions?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

Why don't you just compress files on your regular pc? If you have to have it though, I say go with the AMD Phenom II x4 940. i7 is just too costly for an HTPC. If it wasn't for you wanting to do this, I would say go for the 720. That's what I put in the HTPC I built for my family for our 52". That computer is a backup gaming pc too, so I have a core 216 in it as well :P.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

You could always go with the i5 750 instead of the i7.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 08:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

i think you should go with the core i7... it will be better in the long run
jordon is offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 09:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Core i7 or Core 2 Quad for a HTPC?

That is what I would say if this was a normal use pc, but it is an HTPC...
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will the Core 2 Quad Q9550 work with my mobo? jasonhtml New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-10-2009 10:10 PM
core 2 quad or duo???? bonga System Upgrades 12 03-25-2009 06:46 PM
Looking to upgrade to quad core. 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-25-2009 08:09 PM
Dual core Vs Quad core ?? illnastyimpreza New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-03-2008 11:57 PM
45 nm quad core Eric1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 02-12-2008 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.