Core i5 or i7? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2009, 06:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Question Core i5 or i7?

I know about how the i7 stacks up against the qxxx series but i don't know much about the Core i5. I heard its just a cheaper version of the i7 and lacks hyper threading, so it's an equal buy just for gaming but isn't as strong for multi tasking. Anyone like to add any comments or corrections?
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 09-19-2009, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

At the end of the day it is still a quad, hyperthreading or not. The i5 will still chew through apps and games.

The i5 uses a dual channel set up for memory, whereas the i7 uses a triple channel.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 03:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
At the end of the day it is still a quad, hyperthreading or not. The i5 will still chew through apps and games.

The i5 uses a dual channel set up for memory, whereas the i7 uses a triple channel.
is the i5 still worth it when you compare the price per performance ratio and if you're just using the system to play games and only moderate multi tasking applications?
VampD is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

Yes. For moderate multi tasking you wont notice a difference.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nubbleet View Post
Yes. For moderate multi tasking you wont notice a difference.
How do they compare in synthetic benchmarks?
VampD is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

i5 is a good choice if your building on a budget, otherwise the prices are not that far off from i7. If I were to purchase i5 I would try to go cheap as possible and not spend $180-$200 on a 1156 mobo because, if that were the case I would just shoot straight to i7.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

I agree with thirdshiftdj ^^^^
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County, California ;)
Posts: 181
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

but is it still worth it to get an i5, if you can get an i7 at micro center for $200?
scrimstar is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 09:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

If you live near a Micro Center then yeah i7 is the way to go. Just picked one up this weekend from MC. But there's not very many Micro Centers.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-21-2009, 09:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Core i5 or i7?

Yeah, I'd have to drive for like an hour to get to the one closest to me.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 temps Atech66 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-08-2009 08:46 AM
core temp speedfan temp. loc? bkolk Overclocking and Modding 13 07-05-2008 09:25 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.