Core 2 Quad QX6700 Performance Preview - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2006, 09:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

Yeah, i'll admit that this is pretty sexy technology. But, i'm more interested in a Quad core CPU for "Multitasking" rather then just single application performance.

I spend most of my time on my gaming PC. Normally, I've got Ventrilo running, may-be a mp3 player, Hamachi for lans, fraps, the actually game i'm playing, may-be x-fire, not to mention all of the stupid things running in the background. Then of course there's windows....

I'm also looking forward to the days of 4GIG + of ram on a windows based PC. Something "mac" users can already do.

I just want more cores so i can do more all at the same time, without performance hits to anyone application I'm focusing on.

HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 05:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639

*Drools* I want 1... lol :P

Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 07:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn

i still don' take full advantage of my dual core yet....

quad though is still :drool:
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!

CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
BennyV04988's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835

not to hijack this thread...but i think its relevant. AMD is talking 65nm soon. Will they run on the AM2 with the current chipsets and all that? Will the clockspeeds be more efficient like we saw with the C2D?
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078

65nm is mostly used to lower power usage and heat.

I would love a quad core. Especially if they ever figure out multiplexing (I think thats what intel called it).
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 08:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
alexsabree's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States, Arkansas
Posts: 1,845

65nm would = overclocking pwnage and higher ghz...
alexsabree is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 08:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

Originally posted by alexsabree
65nm would = overclocking pwnage and higher ghz...
65nm doesn't really make it a better overclocker as it means it has a lower tolerance for heat and voltage. it doesn't really do much other than making chips cheaper to make..

They do run cooler but when you run more voltages thru them they will obviously get hot.

They dont have the surface area 95 nm has basically.

2000TH POST!!!

May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 09:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
alexsabree's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States, Arkansas
Posts: 1,845

so is 65nm like how large the surface area of the cpu is?

What does it measure exactly?

(edit) wow 2000 posts.. congratulations, i cant wait to get to 1000
alexsabree is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 12:36 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

I'm still using only 1 core. Rock on.
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 11:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

they jsut keep making stuff people wont ever buy..quad cores and quad

PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.