Core 2 Duos Unlock - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2006, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default Core 2 Duos Unlock

Well, I'm currently reading an article at AnandTech about how the new BIOS for the ASUS P5B can unlock the multiplier of all current Core 2 Duos.

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2822
__________________

__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

well aint that nifty
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Unfortunatally only certain Core 2's unlock up.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

only certain ones? any ones specifically? or is it just pot luck?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 969
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
only certain ones? any ones specifically? or is it just pot luck?
AnandTech was saying ASUS claimed that many Core 2 Duo's unlock up. No word on which ones specifically, so AnandTech is leaving it to the enthusiasts to find out.
__________________
<br><br><font color=\"black\"><b>There's No Place Like </b></font><font color=\"red\"><b>127.0.0.1</b></font><br>
AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

edit: if you already read that don't worry, i realised that i misread you.

pretty interesting read
Nitestick is offline  
Old 08-25-2006, 01:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
The rest of the Core 2 Duo chips are hard-locked up and down...
Wrong! Muli's are unlocked down on all chips assuming the mobo supports it. See below for a pic of my e6400 running with a 7 multi (stock multi of 8).



Quote:
Even more exciting is that ASUS says they have found a way to unlock up or down most Conroe chips.
While this would be fantastic, I will believe it when I see it
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.