Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2007, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

Building a new computer, was origionally planning on putting the E6750 in it but then i came across the Quad core stuff. Is it worth the extra 70 bucks?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

yes.
Make sure its a g0 q6600.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

268 @ clubit.com Oem version
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

not sure, i will only be playing games on occasion and some photoshop. Dont you get better performance out of dual core for occasional gaming and stuff?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 05:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

3.6ghz quadcore. Thats all im saying. If you play games AND have other programs open like ventrillo, firefox, chat programs, etc ect you will benefit from the extra cores. Future games such as crysis will also benefit from quad cores.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 05:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

Hey massacreinfallx,

man...you haven't posted for ages....

Anyway, if you can afford the Q6600 without stretching the budget, then I'd say go for it. But an E6750 will do fine for your purposes.

As of now, dual core is slightly better in the gaming department, but in the future, more programs will be written and will support more than two cores.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

haha okay, well who knows...those new processors are coming out soon anyways right?

but yeah ive been out of the whole computer thing for about a year now. (i got a 360 and bought a mac lol) but i dont know, macs are okay its just i miss my pc :[
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

if theres only a 70 dollar price differance now...come on the answer should be easy...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
268 @ clubit.com Oem version
keep in mind the OEM version doesnt ocme with the stock intel HSF, not that I recommend anyone use that crap...ill sell them mine for 5 bucks...
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs. Core 2 Quad

Thanks for the info.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.