Core 2 Duo upgrade - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2007, 01:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Core 2 Duo upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Even if you can find an E6300, E6400 for around 110 bucks when price cuts happen they are still very fast chips..
wait what? i never mentioned e6300........
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 06:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Core 2 Duo upgrade

Thank you all very much for your help.

As it stands I will probably wait for the C2D price drop and buy a E6700 maybe even a Q6600. My biggest worry is will my standard SATA Hard drive be compatible with all the motherboards, because if I'm not mistaken they use SATAII or something now right?

Also what is the deal when you put a new HDD into your computer, do you have to have a degree in software design in order to set it up or is it very simple. What does it involve?

Thanks again, you guys have been very helpful!
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 08:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 263
Default Re: Core 2 Duo upgrade

I highly recommend you go with the e6750 over the e6700. It has been tested and is being heralded as the next overclocking cpu of choice.

What is this system being used for? If you are a gamer than I would recommend bypassing the q6600 and getting the e6750 until the gaming industry begins to better utilized the quadcore technology. If you are a video encoder or CAD user than by all means go with the q6600 as the quadcore will be a significant improvement in performance over a dual core.
Bot2011 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 09:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Core 2 Duo upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raziel-Zero View Post
Thank you all very much for your help.

As it stands I will probably wait for the C2D price drop and buy a E6700 maybe even a Q6600. My biggest worry is will my standard SATA Hard drive be compatible with all the motherboards, because if I'm not mistaken they use SATAII or something now right?

Also what is the deal when you put a new HDD into your computer, do you have to have a degree in software design in order to set it up or is it very simple. What does it involve?

Thanks again, you guys have been very helpful!
chillax sata is still a baby in the PC world so u can reuse ur HD's.... also look at Bots recommendation....
Quote:
I highly recommend you go with the e6750 over the e6700. It has been tested and is being heralded as the next overclocking cpu of choice.

What is this system being used for? If you are a gamer than I would recommend bypassing the q6600 and getting the e6750 until the gaming industry begins to better utilized the quadcore technology. If you are a video encoder or CAD user than by all means go with the q6600 as the quadcore will be a significant improvement in performance over a dual core.
I highly recommend you go with the e6750 over the e6700. It has been tested and is being heralded as the next overclocking cpu of choice.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 07:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Default Re: Core 2 Duo upgrade

Alright e6750 it is
__________________

Raziel-Zero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade? or not to upgrade? wumbo6 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-11-2007 12:07 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.