Core 2 Duo Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2006, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default Core 2 Duo Question

Im going to upgrade from my pentium d 2.66ghz to a Core 2 Duo 1.86ghz now would this Core 2 Duo be a decent gaming processor? Only reason i went with that one is of the price cause its right in my budget.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Any Core 2 Duo is better than any Pentium D.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Well ya but thats not what i was really asking. I was asking if the 1.86ghz core 2 duo would be a good processor for gaming. Sorry if my first post was kinda vague.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Should be great, check these benchmarks to compare.
http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.ht...=449&chart=169
Granted it only has the 2.13 ghz core 2 duo but that's just the next step up from what you're getting. Pretty impressive I say.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Alrite cool thanks guys.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

I have one, and it beasts any game i play(not much) but it runs command and conquer extremely fast, and RTS games are pretty CPU intensive. No lag at all(besides network) on my end. Only problem is the people with bad pc's...
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Ok you mentioned the e6400 2.13ghz i was wondering if the e6300 1.86ghz would be a good processor for gaming.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 07:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Omg haha is the C2D good for gaming. Dude it destroys AMD's FX series with a tiny bit of OC. It is the best line of gaming right now and it will run circles around any Pentium D out there on the market. Its pretty much the absolute best thing for the money today next to the E6600 with 4mb cache. But now thats out of your budget i bet and mine too. Trust me buy the E6300 and you wont be dissapointed one bit.

Also i know why you asked, about 3 months ago when i got into the whole computer specs and i saw a 1.83ghz CPU...i was skeptical on how would it would be better. But theres 2 reasons:

1 you get TWO 1.83ghz cores packed together to make 3.6ghz of Core 2 Duo Power.
Then you get the new C2D which has all new technology a new fabrication process and everything.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 08:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Ok thats what i was wondering thanks
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

haha yea like i said a friend suggested it as an upgrade over my old 3.0 P4 a while back and i was like WTF???? it says only 1.83!!
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.