core 2 duo or phenom II x3 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 03:36 PM   #31 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

the square things next to the caps around the cpu area, NB and mem. Ferrite chokes
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:44 PM   #32 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Hm, interesting, what purpose do the chokes serve?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:45 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

For me personally, I would only buy Jetway and ASRock if I was on a strict budget. They are ok boards for the cost, but I would prefer different brands myself, just based on personal experience.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:46 PM   #34 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

I was never questioning the Jetway's features, I was questioning it's quality.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:52 PM   #35 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Jetway has gotten better, but they are still a budget board in my eyes. They are loads better than ECS or PCCHIPS though, haha.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 04:02 PM   #36 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

True. Although being loads better then brands I wouldn't buy at gunpoint doesn't really mean much.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 05:10 PM   #37 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7sanremo View Post
Hm, interesting, what purpose do the chokes serve?
From my understanding it reduces interface for clean signal

edit: lol whoops I meant it reduces interference not interface.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 06:04 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992
What are the chokes you speak of?
Essentially, they resist sudden changes in current flow, smoothing the power that goes through it.

All boards will have the power going through a power regulation system, usually including chokes.
Generally speaking, the more chokes it has (in paralell), the more power can be delivered to the CPU.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I was never questioning the Jetway's features, I was questioning it's quality.
Why? If anything, it uses above average quality components.

*edit*
here's a 9950 @ 3700MHZ on a Jetway HA07:
CPU-Z Validator 3.0
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 06:53 PM   #39 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Why? If anything, it uses above average quality components.

*edit*
here's a 9950 @ 3700MHZ on a Jetway HA07:
CPU-Z Validator 3.0
Becase it is from a brand of questionable quality.

Here is a 9950 clocked higher on air with a Asus 790gx.

CPU-Z Validator 3.0

The 9950 world record is also held by a Asus 790gx.

CPU-Z Validator 3.0
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 07:03 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Becase it is from a brand of questionable quality.
That's a hasty generalisation.
Just because a brand might have made many low quality products, doesn't mean all of their products are low quality.
I'd call the HA06/HA07 boards high quality. Diamonds in the rough for Jetway.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Here is a 9950 clocked higher on air with a Asus 790gx.

CPU-Z Validator 3.0

The 9950 world record is also held by a Asus 790gx.

CPU-Z Validator 3.0
both of them have been rejected by CPU-Z (see the big cross in the picture?)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 11:30 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
overclocking my core 2 duo dafunkmon Overclocking and Modding 9 10-29-2007 11:36 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.