core 2 duo or phenom II x3 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 09:21 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Unless Jetway has managed to pull off a world record oc or something along those lines I would go with a different brand.
Why would it require a world record overclock for you to like it?
Everything I've read about Jetway's AM2+ boards has been quite positive.

*edit*
Anyway, looking at the 780G board, I think it is basically the same as the 790GX board aside from the GPU.
With the X3 720 it would cost $227
Or with the X4 940 it would cost $298.99

[2nd edit]
the 790GX board has a combo with the X4 940, at $303.99
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
If you want the colours of the 790GX board, you might consider it worth $5 over the 780G + X4 940
[/edit]


Though looking at the combos, you can get a Phenom II 940 + Biostar 790GX board for $278.99
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:31 AM   #22 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

I'm not questioning that they have improved but there are so many other good brands with positive reviews I don't see a reason to take a chance on Jetway.

The reason I mentioned a world record oc is that's exactly what Biostar did to change my opinion abut them. The I45 set the world record for the highest fsb and their x58 is one of the top overclocking lga1366 boards. While there are brands I would buy from that don't hold world record having once says a lot abut how good their boards have gotten.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:34 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I'm not questioning that they have improved but there are so many other good brands with positive reviews I don't see a reason to take a chance on Jetway.
I wouldn't call it "taking a chance" when looking at the feedback for these boards (not just newegg feedback).
Besides, it's so cheap at $79.99 and yet has what you'd need for a high-end system.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:44 AM   #24 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Like I said there are lots of boards with good reviews, for example why get the Jetway over the Gigabyte, Asus or Biostar?
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:46 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Like I said there are lots of boards with good reviews
these Jetway boards do.
People on XS who have used them like them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
for example why get the Jetway over the Gigabyte, Asus or Biostar?
it's cheap and has what you need for a high-end system
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:51 AM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-US2H AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - ASUS M3A78-EM AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA780G M2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

All of those boards are cheaper than the Jetway.

Besides just because it is cheap doesn't mean it can't be one of the best boards. I payed $70 for my IP35-E and at the time it was one of the best overclocking Intel boards.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:00 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

the Gigabyte is the same price, the Asus is $1 cheaper, and the Biostar is $7 cheaper

I would definitely avoid the Biostar board you linked, because it's only got 3 chokes.
The Jetway board also has one more choke (6 vs 5) and more PCI-E slots than the gigabyte and Asus board.
Plus, from the reviews I've seen, people like it.

That's why I chose the Jetway to begin with; I think it's the best one in that price range.
Quote:
Besides just because it is cheap doesn't mean it can't be one of the best boards.
Yeah, I know.
I think you get a lot for your money with the HA06.
If I thought another board was better for the money, I'd recommend it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:03 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Ya, I have the Biostar, and unfortunately its not much of an Overclocker... should have spend teh extra $10 on the HP at the time D:

Let me ask what you think about this one though:

Newegg.com - ASRock A780GXE/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards , I know its ASROCK, but I'm just wondering
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:12 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Ya, I have the Biostar, and unfortunately its not much of an Overclocker... should have spend teh extra $10 on the HP at the time D:

Let me ask what you think about this one though:

Newegg.com - ASRock A780GXE/128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards , I know its ASROCK, but I'm just wondering
looks pretty solid.
5 chokes, 2 x PCI-E 16X, 6 x SATA, should allow some good overclocking.

I just had a look at a closeup pic of the HA06, and it actually has a 7th choke I didn't see (right next to the 8-pin power socket). So I'd probably lean towards that.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:12 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

What are the chokes you speak of?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 11:30 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
overclocking my core 2 duo dafunkmon Overclocking and Modding 9 10-29-2007 11:36 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.