core 2 duo or phenom II x3 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2009, 01:47 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

E8400 for the win!!!!
__________________

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 07:13 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

the X3 720 usually gets ~3.8GHZ or so, sometimes >4GHZ, and has an extra core

Some people have been able to unlock the forth core, though it's a lucky dip really.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 05:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

If I went Intel, I was going with Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
that board. Then paired with an e7400.

So I am getting the ups and downs of each, but I still don't know what I should do lol. What will I get better performance with
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 05:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Well if you want a higher clocker I think the E7400 will do better in that department with that said its really hard to turn down a triple core w/ 6mb cache. Just go AMD
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-11-2009, 05:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

amd 1, intel 0
Thresh25 is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 01:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

PC 23323928392932. Macs 0
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 01:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

These are good boards:
Newegg.com - JetWay JHA07-ULTRA-LF AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
Newegg.com - JetWay JHA06-GT-LF AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

I'm not sure how much difference the 790GX board has over the 780G boards, apart from the onboard GPU and the colours. though I think that 790GX boards is one of the best looking boards out.
Also, they have 6 chokes next to the CPU, so should support very high-powered chips, as well as some high overclocking headroom.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 02:29 AM   #18 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Jetway : /
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 02:37 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Jetway : /
I know, their history isn't that good.
However, their AM2+ boards have broken the trend.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 09:17 AM   #20 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: core 2 duo or phenom II x3

Unless Jetway has managed to pull off a world record oc or something along those lines I would go with a different brand.

This combo deal on the Biostar TP45HP and E8400 is pretty good and there is also a $15 mir on the board.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 11:30 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM
overclocking my core 2 duo dafunkmon Overclocking and Modding 9 10-29-2007 11:36 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.