Cooler Master Stacker Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2007, 12:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Cooler Master Stacker Question

I just recently purchased a Cooler Master Stacker 830, I love the case, but one problem/misunderstanding annoys me. The Front Panel Headers on most motherboards to connect the power led, etc, usually consist of 2 pins for the power led, etc. But the cooler master stacker has a 3 pin power led which cannot connect due to the fact it needs to be 2 pin, am I correct or just overlooking something? The motherboard I am looking at putting in this case is possibly a Gigabyte X38T DQ6, and it says the power led should be a two pin connector in the manual???

For Example I Drew a Picture:
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

the power led can either be a 2 or 3 pin connector, therefore if you still want to use it, you must improvise, just get a razer blade (or anything else that's pointy) and carefully lift the little tabs on the black connector and replace the wire to the appropriate hole
__________________

__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
the power led can either be a 2 or 3 pin connector, therefore if you still want to use it, you must improvise, just get a razer blade (or anything else that's pointy) and carefully lift the little tabs on the black connector and replace the wire to the appropriate hole
Won't it still be a 3-pin(with the wires in the first two pin holes) and take up one of the reset pin spots?
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

point it away, so a hole is over nothing
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by decibaL View Post
point it away, so a hole is over nothing
Ah, ok, I get what your saying, alright, thank you so much! I will go try this now.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 08:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

I believe you should have an adapter to plug all of the front panel wires into?

Then the adapter just plugs into the mother board??

At least that is how my stacker is, although it is an older model....and HUGE.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 482
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

the dq6 x38T is DDR3....

Why did you go with the DQ6 over the maximus?
__________________

Sig by Nosboost300
Prophet is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

His future build has corsair DDR3 memory in it.. That may be why.
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 01:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
smashedpumpkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 392
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

Hey I've got a questions myself. I purchased a stacker 830 also. (It's a monster...) Anyways I have an AC-97 and a HD AUDIO connecter. And then a bundle of the single wires. (I previously had a brother help me put mine together) However this time I seem to be a tad confused. Is the two connecters the sames as the bundle of wires? Maybe just a backup incase their method doesn't fit? Otherwise I can't figure out where it'd go as I wouldn't have enough slots. (My current computer is away from me as I'm on a trip on my laptop to the good ol parents. Products were shipped here to my parents and I wanted to finish up before I left home) Here's my mobo EVGA nForce 680i SLI Motherboard - NVIDIA, Socket 775, ATX, (New T1 Version), Audio, PCI Express, SLI, Dual Gigabit LAN, SPDIF, USB 2.0 & Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID 122-CK-NF68-T1 at TigerDirect.com
__________________
“Fortune favors the brave.”
smashedpumpkins is offline  
Old 11-24-2007, 05:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: Cooler Master Stacker Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
His future build has corsair DDR3 memory in it.. That may be why.
Almost, haha, my friend works in a computer warehouse, and he got two X38T's for free from his boss as a gift, so he let me have one, its a really stable board...so far. But its also nice cause the board has DDR3 Ram, so I can just transfer that over when I get my Maximus later on.
__________________

__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COOLER MASTER GeminII RR-CCH-ANU2-GP CPU+ Board Cooler - Free after MIR smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 13 11-28-2007 10:30 AM
Cooler Master Stacker dark strike1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 11-23-2007 03:59 PM
picked up E2180 and Cooler Master stacker 830 thirdshiftdj New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-21-2007 03:03 AM
Quick question on cooling my COOLER MASTER Centurion 5. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-20-2007 11:36 PM
COOLER MASTER GeminII (FREE! *MIR'S) commandercup Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 10-03-2007 05:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.