Consumer NAS - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2013, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Alexffiala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 79
Default Consumer NAS

I'm looking to build a home NAS from scratch.

I plan on using 8x WD Red 3TB drives in raid 0. However, I may only get 4 to start. I was interested to know if it's possible to have only a fraction of the drives installed on the system included in a raid array. As in, have 3 drives in raid and one not in raid.

Also, any hardware suggestions for this build? I'll need a raid card, mobo, ram, psu, cpu and whatever else you can think of.

Thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
{ | i7 2600K | + | 16Gb Ripjaws | + |Asrock p67 Extreme Gen3 | }
{ | Noctua NH-D14 | + | Sapphire Flex Radeon HD 6950 2Gb | }
{ | Corsair 950w | + | Fractal Design Define XL R2 | }

{ | Download: 50Mbps | / | Upload: 5Mbps | }
Alexffiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: Consumer NAS

I highly recommend against using 0 for that much storage space... Do R1, use Freenas, get a decent CPU, and tons of RAM. You don't need a RAID card if you get a decent CPU and plenty of RAM while using FreeNAS.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 12:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Consumer NAS

I actually suggest using 5 over that for the parity, and since you have so many drives.

Disagree with no RAID card on 8 drives. You'll want a hardware controller capable of handling so many drives if you plan to give it a hefty load but I can agree with the disagreement on not using 0. If something goes wrong, you lose everything. 5 makes a lot more sense.

But we'll need a budget for the rig before going any further.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Consumer NAS

RAID 0 will blow up in your face. Bad idea

Also realize you can't just add disks to the RAID array after the fact, the process will require you to rebuild the RAID array which means all data will be wiped. So if you have 5 TB of data on that RAID array, you have to backup that 5 TB of disk to another location, build your array then copy the data back over.

Use either RAID 5/6 or RAID 10 depending on how much disc space you can give up.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Consumer NAS

You can add to RAID 5 if the controller supports it, otherwise it's all from zip.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Alexffiala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 79
Default Re: Consumer NAS

Sorry, I mistakenly wrote 0 instead of 1, plan was for raid 1.

I need a raid card because no mobo has 10x sata 6gbs ports.

budget is 2k
__________________
{ | i7 2600K | + | 16Gb Ripjaws | + |Asrock p67 Extreme Gen3 | }
{ | Noctua NH-D14 | + | Sapphire Flex Radeon HD 6950 2Gb | }
{ | Corsair 950w | + | Fractal Design Define XL R2 | }

{ | Download: 50Mbps | / | Upload: 5Mbps | }
Alexffiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Consumer NAS

Forgot to ask the purpose, because that will determine the amount of CPU power needed.

As it stands, a simple little i3 rig would do the job. IGP, quick CPU, 8GB of RAM, and a PCI-E slot for the RAID card and add a PSU to it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Alexffiala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 79
Default Re: Consumer NAS

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Forgot to ask the purpose, because that will determine the amount of CPU power needed.

As it stands, a simple little i3 rig would do the job. IGP, quick CPU, 8GB of RAM, and a PCI-E slot for the RAID card and add a PSU to it.
It'll be used for mass storage of media and files.

It's content will be mostly music and videos.
__________________
{ | i7 2600K | + | 16Gb Ripjaws | + |Asrock p67 Extreme Gen3 | }
{ | Noctua NH-D14 | + | Sapphire Flex Radeon HD 6950 2Gb | }
{ | Corsair 950w | + | Fractal Design Define XL R2 | }

{ | Download: 50Mbps | / | Upload: 5Mbps | }
Alexffiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 02:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Consumer NAS

So not so much a huge load?

Then I stick with what I was saying before unless you think it might get hammered by a lot of people.
With something so small, a nice small Gold series Seasonic would do well, and a case with proper ventilation for the drives.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 04:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Consumer NAS

My two cents- Go with your own and use FreeNAS. I've had a FreeNAS build before and miss it dearly. Currently I'm using a ReadyNAS Duo+ w/ 2xWD Red TBs in a Raid 1 and an external WD 2TB. Stores all of my media and the external stores my Steam library back up.

Stores all files fine, transfer rates over my switch are fine. But streaming is another story. It has a real hard time with large catalogues. Also, remote access is buggy at best.

Your own build with hardware RAID and FreeNAS is going to be your best bet, especially with storage as large as that. I vote Raid 5 as well, but take the time to look into all the RAID levels, besides just stripping. There are many other pre-made NAS that have good hardare, but they're not nearly as cost effective.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.