conroes out, AMD drops prices..so... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2006, 12:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Socket T $145

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 Conroe $299

$25 off for mobo/cpu combo...


Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM Unbuffered DDR2 800 $200

Video Card: SAPPHIRE 100149L Radeon X1900XT 512MB $340

Hard drive: Seagate 320gb $95

Powersupply: Antec truepower 2.0 550 Watt $80

Optical drive: NEC dvd burner $29

Case: Cooler master case $45

total: $1217.93 +shipping - $40 mail in rebates

if you still have money to spare, perhaps get a higher-end motherboard w/ crossfire or SLI...
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 01:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy
Default

when overclocking, does it like wear out the CPU faster? cuz it seems like it would decrease the lifetime of it..
__________________

__________________
play bf2142?
join Bloody Pandas!
http://com1.runboard.com/bbloodypandas
Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 01:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i believe it only decreases it if you increase the voltage... i'm not sure.. or w/e causes the temperature to increase... it will decrease the lifespan to like 10 years.. which is way more than what you'd use it for anyways... so its irrelevant how much the lifespan is decreased... just make sure that when you're using/OCin your comp, your temperatures are normal.. because if it gets TOO hot, then it could just burn on the spot...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 01:45 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 130
Send a message via AIM to Fuxy_Muxy
Default

my other question was...go with the "bad drivers" and get the ATI X1900XTX or 7900GT w/ a better mobo...

o yeah.. its for gaming :P
__________________
play bf2142?
join Bloody Pandas!
http://com1.runboard.com/bbloodypandas
Fuxy_Muxy is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 02:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

Meh, I like the ATI video cards... Although... if you're going to shell out 300+ dollars, I would probably stick with the 7900GT... if you had a limit to like 230 this would be a whole different story -.-
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 04:25 AM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

x1900xt drivers are fine... don't let that be a deciding factor.. only time they have problems with drivers is when they're first released...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 05:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

For tech news fans (yes I'm a tech news fan)...take this however you want it...

DX10 is only for Vista...that may or may not change depending on if they can overhaul certain parts of XP, etc

DX10 hardware may come out before Vista. Purchasing current gen, non DX10 hardware does not prevent you from running/using Vista.

You can buy current top of the line DX9 hardware, upgrade your OS later to Vista, and have to do without DX10 support.

DX10 products may not REQUIRE DX10, but only performs better with them.

To this individual, me...I have hope that ALL of us, who are not waiting for DX10, can at a later time, purchase DX10 auxilliary cards. Such things are possible...but may or may not be profitable to the industry makers, ie., ATI, Nvidia...and even Ageia.

It is the same principle behind those cheesy electronics sales people who try to convince unknowing consumers that they HAVE to buy digital HDTVs because their current SD tvs would cease to work...when all that would be involved are scan converters.

Of course, if the entire industry says NO to the consumers...well then we'll just have to take one for the team. eww

Just keep in mind, what I said about DX10, though true, could and might change...but just think that it won't and you won't be so depressed ;p
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-12-2006, 07:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Note that the 7900GT is at times $100 cheaper than the X1900XT, and can overclock past the X1900XTs performance.

Also check out the sizes. Dual slot cooling makes the X1900XT a much larger card also.
__________________

TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.