Conroe Reviews Released - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2006, 02:39 PM   #61 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Yes, it's really that much better in everything. As for how, its a better architecture.

It will cost $183, give or take $20.
__________________

AntiKryptonite is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:47 PM   #62 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

man AMD is gonna suck when Conroe comes out by the looks of that.

all i've been studying is AMD, is the only difference in a system is the mobo and processor ? will it use DDR2 memory ? looks like i need to learn about intel now.
__________________

__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 02:51 PM   #63 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

DDR2-800 memory, and obviously different motherboards. The processor...why did you even ask that, lol.

Yes, AMD is going to suck compared to that when Conroe comes out.
AntiKryptonite is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:09 PM   #64 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

i was trying to state the parts i knew would be different.

i know nothing about intel stuff. yet !
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:12 PM   #65 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Yea, Intel overclocking is especially different. I'm like you, learned everything about AMD, and now trying to learn about Intel. I'm still barely getting how to overclock an Intel processor (the processor part is easy, its the memory that throws you for a loop).
AntiKryptonite is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:17 PM   #66 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

i only have 500MHZ right now at home so i aint even worried about OC'ing, at least not yet. i jut really want a good stable system. 939 still looked good and stable to me till i got into this conroe stuff today.

that graph is stock right ? before any OC'ing ?
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:21 PM   #67 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 53
Default

Yes, that graph is at stock speeds.

But this might get you interested in overclocking;

A 1.86Ghz E6300 overclocked to 2.94Ghz (like a X6800 Conroe) without any voltage increases, and on air cooling.

Furthermore, a 2.4Ghz E6600 overclocked to 4.0Ghz, yes the big Four-Zero. Also on air cooling, though I'm not entirely sure about stock voltage.

Just for reference, a 4Ghz Conroe is twice as fast as the FX-60.
AntiKryptonite is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:26 PM   #68 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 160
Default

i dont even know that much about this stuff and i know that is awesome. now i know why i sensed fear when i read an article about AMD. they have to be stressing big time. even with price lowering they cant compete with those numbers.
__________________
Thanks
arctic388 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:32 PM   #69 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AntiKryptonite
Yes, that graph is at stock speeds.

But this might get you interested in overclocking;

A 1.86Ghz E6300 overclocked to 2.94Ghz (like a X6800 Conroe) without any voltage increases, and on air cooling.

Furthermore, a 2.4Ghz E6600 overclocked to 4.0Ghz, yes the big Four-Zero. Also on air cooling, though I'm not entirely sure about stock voltage.

Just for reference, a 4Ghz Conroe is twice as fast as the FX-60.
but doesnt the e6300 only have half the cache... well that doesnt really matter to me.. it'll still go faster than an fx60.....

anyway.. ijust need to get away from single core.. weather it be just getting a new opteron or x2.. or moving over to conroe.. it doesnt matter, whichever ends up being cheaper (in the long run)
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-16-2006, 03:32 PM   #70 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

I wonder how far ill be able to oc a e6600 on water cooling...hmm....u think i can hit liek 3.5Ghz? more? less?
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.