Conroe Mobos - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2006, 04:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
what they lack is normal sort of features. intel lost my support with the BIOS access jumper
Quote:
I agree. Every motherboard I have seen from Intel is an extremely limited piece of trash. I'm not going to give them a chance to redeem themselves.
two of us have already answered that. they are limited in just about every conceivable way, no overclocking features. basically they are the facade of a motherboard
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 05:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

[my link wont work...

The intel mobos do offer overclocking, check tomshardware.com under the mobo tab.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 07:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Sorry i put Intel, i meant Intel boards but im guesing you guys knew what i meant.
1) Design. The design of each board from Intel i have had from the older Pentium days on up to the recent LGA775 board i have has been to say the least flawed. I can understand Intel against AMD but both companies should have the same way their DDR slots go. I tried putting DDR in the same way i do my AMD board and they where upside down. Turend it on and im suprised i didnt get sparks or somthing. Also, the board i was working w/ has a PCI-E slot but the chipset heatsink is in such a bad place that it almost touches the board. If i would have had some sort of good card in it the thing would have been toasted from the chipset.
2) Features. The features on these particular boards are crap. This one is fairly new and didnt even have the option to turn the HT on!! I had a good P4 w/ HT and i couldnt turn it on from the bios!! And it didnt default to on either. Also, i have never worked w/ one that had any sort of OCing. Ever.
3) Price. A crap board from Intel w/ the same chipset on another brand board is more exspensive. I would rather pay for a Biostar board or something.
These are just my experiences w/ my particular Intel boards though.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.