Conroe E6600 System for under $1k? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 11:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Building a $1,000 Core 2 Duo PC

I found this article when I was asking a similiar question.
This guy uses the E6600 for his chip and a rather pricey motherboard.... but you can mix/match parts to still fit within that $1000..... when you buy let me know because I am also trying to build a PC for under $1000

I was thinking conroe but since it has just come out, the motherboards arent not in high supply and a little pricey..... I might just go with a drop'd priced Athlon X2 ..... planning to spend around 300 for the CPU.
__________________

stees is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

I'd probably go with a cheaper motherboard and 2gb of ram instead of what that guy built. If I can't transfer my WinXP, I may go Linux.
__________________

__________________
Please visit my new Photography forum: http://www.f8forum.com
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

I have the same copy of windows XP installed on several HDs. They don't check it. I don't think it strictly legal, but hey microsoft sucks enough money out of us.
bum is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

With the windows xp, i rencently just did that same thing with my computers. But i've had it do two different ways. A) If will let you activate it nothing is needed, just update as you normally would. B) It will not let you activate it becasue the key was in use. And all you have to do is call windows and let them know your situation, assuming everything is legit, the key and all. Just tell them your taking the windows key off a broken computer you are no longer using and putting it on your new one.

With the computer build however, if your not planning to do any gaming i would sink more money into ram than anything else, unless you need alot of storage. I would expect to pay something anywhere from $150-250 for the ram and $150-200 for the mobo. Here are some good options.

mobo - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131030

ram - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231073
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

agreed. To fully utilize a dual core processor you need alot of ram. Get at least 2 gigs.
bum is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uthscsa19
I'd probably go with a cheaper motherboard and 2gb of ram instead of what that guy built. If I can't transfer my WinXP, I may go Linux.
yea that motherboard is what kinda dettered me from getting a conroe.... i know they are cheaper ones but i want the same quality and price as if i was getting an athlon64 x2 with an AM2 motherboard
stees is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 01:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

that's truee stees, but just becasue the mobo is cheap doesn't mean its a bad motherboard. for my 64 3200+ i went with a cheap abit motherboard, probably set me back $80? it ran my computer better, cooler, and more efficent than my new asus which cost $150. the only reason i went with the asus is becasue it had sata and more overclocking abilities.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 02:48 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

yea i think overclocking ability is one the major factors in pricing
before i would just think about the features/specs
stees is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 02:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 66
Default

I will want to overclock, but since Im waiting until early Oct. to buy, I am sure their will be several Mobo reviewed for their overclocking ability. I hope the prices go down abit aswell on the mobo's. For the mobo, I am looking to pay between 100-150 if possible.
__________________
Please visit my new Photography forum: http://www.f8forum.com
uthscsa19 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 03:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

yeah thats gonna be a stretch to catch a mobo for that price at the moment. Im sure within a couple of months prices will drop. Asus however is pretty well known for overclocking ability from what i hear. i have two asus's and both are extremely easy and good overclockers.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.