conroe bundle - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2006, 04:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default conroe bundle

has anyone seen a conroe e6300 bundle?
pref. under 300pounds
and if poss. with Asrock ConroeXFire-eSATA2 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-003-AK)

but i am mainly looking for a e6300 bundle under 300pounds
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Why that board? It would really be my last choice.

What does the bundle have to include? CPU, mobo and RAM? You are not going to get better than this at such a low budget.

CP-126-IN Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale" 1.86GHz (1066FSB) - Retail (CP-126-IN)
£115.95 £115.95
MB-063-GI Gigabyte GA_965P_S3 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard (MB-063-GI)
£79.95 £79.95
MY-057-GL GeIL 1GB (2x512MB) PC6400 800MHz Ultra Low Latency DDR2 Dual Channel Kit (GX21GB6400UDC) (MY-057-GL)
£62.49 £62.49
Subtotal £258.39
VAT £45.22
Total £303.61

I'm sure you can find £4 and spend the rest on penny sweets.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

why would that motherboard be your last choice?
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The only chipsets that will be guarenteed to work at the 965 and 975x. Others have been modified by companies to work. Which means I will not reccomend them. yeah, it may be £30 cheaper, but not worth saving my £30, IMO. Sure it will work, if you must save that small amount.

Plus, I am not a fan of Asrock, cheap low end boards.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

does your suggested package have decent ram?
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 06:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

GEIL RAM is good, I'm not going to fool you by saying there is nothing better, as there is, but it is very good RAM that will happily overclock. I would personally get 2Gibs of it though.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

what about a bundle?
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

i need psu and fan aswell for under 300
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 07:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

I dont live in the UK but I converted the money £300=$567.21 (I think) and I was able to fit in:
Antec TRUEPOWERII TPII-550 ATX12V 550W Power Supply
ECS P965T-A (V1.0) Socket T (LGA 775) Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
Update Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1066MHz FSB LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6300
OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model OCZ28002048ELDCGE-K

Thats what I could get with £300 in America though.....
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 08-23-2006, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

thats cool but in america its cheaper!
__________________

__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.