Conroe Advice? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 12:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
the thing is, i need a system now and i dont need all that great performance yet. i can wait for the am3 but i cant without a computyer
If you want am3 that bad, just buy a socket am2 X2 3800+ that should hold you buy till am3, but you can't rule out that intel wont release something incredibly awesome, i doubt they're going to let AMD get the upper hand again without a fight.
__________________

Curry Viking is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

I say go Socket 939!

__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 01:14 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Curry Viking
If you want am3 that bad, just buy a socket am2 X2 3800+ that should hold you buy till am3, but you can't rule out that intel wont release something incredibly awesome, i doubt they're going to let AMD get the upper hand again without a fight.
how long until the am3?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 02:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by massacreinfallx
how long until the am3?
By am3 i'm guessing you're referring to the new 65nm amd cpus, they're a new wave of cpu but am3 isn't a new socket, you'll be able to use am3 cpus on your am2 motherboard. I've been hearing they'll be released Q4 2006 or Q1 2007.
Curry Viking is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I read Q1 2008..from Wikipedia.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

Wikipedia has always been slightly off the rocker though =P. Anyways, I have a 3800+ X2 and am in no hurry to upgrade to Conroe, when more Mobos come out and cheaper RAM, I MAY upgrade, but until then, what I have does not sweat or bat an eye at any of the really intensive programs, so it all works for me.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JoshSB
Wikipedia has always been slightly off the rocker though =P. Anyways, I have a 3800+ X2 and am in no hurry to upgrade to Conroe, when more Mobos come out and cheaper RAM, I MAY upgrade, but until then, what I have does not sweat or bat an eye at any of the really intensive programs, so it all works for me.
yeah see, thats what i mean. I always was an AMD kinda guy, and its not like my computer cant handle everything i throw att it. so why upgrade? By the time i need to upgrade the counterpart to the conroe from amd will be out.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 11:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
I read Q1 2008..from Wikipedia.
i couldnt imagine why amdwould wait almost 2 years to release giving intel the upper hand for that long
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 12:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

AMD will not have a serious competitor for Core2 out for a while. Going to the 65nm process isnt going to do much for AMD besides allow them to clock higher. How much difference did it make for Intel switching from the 90nm (Pentium D 8XX) to the 65nm (Pentium D 9XX) when it came to comparing performance with the AMD X2 line? Not much at all. Until AMD goes back to the drawing board and builds a new process architecture from the ground up, it will be behind Core2 and what ever Intel puts out in the future.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 01:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cedjunior
AMD will not have a serious competitor for Core2 out for a while. Going to the 65nm process isnt going to do much for AMD besides allow them to clock higher. How much difference did it make for Intel switching from the 90nm (Pentium D 8XX) to the 65nm (Pentium D 9XX) when it came to comparing performance with the AMD X2 line? Not much at all. Until AMD goes back to the drawing board and builds a new process architecture from the ground up, it will be behind Core2 and what ever Intel puts out in the future.
too late. just bought am2 4000+. wich can easily handle anything you can throw at it.atleast until amd releases their version of the core 2 duo
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.