connection speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2007, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default connection speed

hi all.
my internet connection speed tests at:
1000 kbps / 124.9 KB/sec transfer rate (download)
and
1078 kbps / 134.8 KB/ sec transfer rate (upload)

is this a good speed?

also, in my task bar where the little network connection icon is (you know the two little computers) it says 100.0mbps.
is this right?
does my network adapter automatically select its own setting?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I a find it hard to believe that your upload is higher than download. Is this a DSL or Cable? My cable is really fast. 784kbs up and 8000kbs down. On good badwidth days my Downlod runs a 14000!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

the 100mbps is the speed of the Ethernet adapter. it is a 100mbps card. your internet will run only as fast as advertised, and it may run slower on peak hours.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

rico:
really it varies, usually my download is faster, those were the results from the test i was looking at right then.
but my download is always 1000 kbps or above.
my upload varies from 800-1000kbps.
it's neither cable or dsl, its wireless through my rural electric company. so i have what looks like a satellite dish on the side of my house, only it points to a tower.
but in any event, i think this connection speed is close to a cable, but slower than t1 or a good dsl.

zmatt:
the adapter on my mobo is a 10/100/1000.
which is why i ask if there are manual settings that change it or if it detects which speed it needs to run at.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

o you have the good sattelite stuff. What I have is actual sattelite, it goes up into space and is probably the slowest "high speed" internet connection there is.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

lol so i guess minelifies as a "good" speed, then?
yeah lance i just upped my connection speed today.
was at 550kbps, and i didn't like that i was kinda laggin the dsl dudes in bf2.
they have 2000kbps for ten bucks more. i'm gonna try this for a week and see how it works, but i can afford another ten bucks.
look at my hobby, for christs sake lol.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
I a find it hard to believe that your upload is higher than download. Is this a DSL or Cable? My cable is really fast. 784kbs up and 8000kbs down. On good badwidth days my Downlod runs a 14000!!!

Ahhh, mighty nice cable Sir. I like to brag about mine, yours tops it BUT.. how much do you pay. My speed (cable) is suppost to be capped at 3MEG. I've almost never seen it at or below 3 meg. Average is 4.5 meg and about 700 upload. And its $29.95/mo.

ping times in many OLG's are max 40's.



(how much do you pay for those speeds nagasama? or have you already said..)
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 230
Default

dude it can't be as bad as mine I am using 512 kbps bandwidth man now that is bad for me.
__________________
http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/7...7ah7842gr0.gif
Case: NZXT Apollo BLACK
MB: Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi edition
CPU: E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
GFX: eVGA 7900GS
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB
HD : Seagate 400 GB HD
PSU: HIPER HPU 580Watt
MurdaX is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GreenMachine
Ahhh, mighty nice cable Sir. I like to brag about mine, yours tops it BUT.. how much do you pay. My speed (cable) is suppost to be capped at 3MEG. I've almost never seen it at or below 3 meg. Average is 4.5 meg and about 700 upload. And its $29.95/mo.

ping times in many OLG's are max 40's.



(how much do you pay for those speeds nagasama? or have you already said..)
greenmachine i pay more than 30 dollars haha. i think the bill is about 50ish.
now, i dont know if i've gone retarded or what, but wouldn't a 3mb conection be 3000kb?
so, really isnt yours better than mine?
i think maybe your question is directed at rico?
mine tops out at about 1+ mb.
which is like a crappy cable connection, correct?
now if i got to the 2mb cap, it would be like a pretty decent cable modem.
my ping on a good server is usually about 70-85.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default

wow dude you can just get FIOS for $55 a month and you get 50mb/10mb so i say screw cable. FIOS FTW. im usually downloading at 15mbps
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.