confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2013, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

hello everyone,

I am building my first PC from scratch and trying for a low end gaming PC. I bought a barebones kit online and a hardrive (because was not included in kit) and a second graphics card. the graphics card is a XFX6570 part code HD-657X-ZDF2 which advertised crossfire X ready. so when I get them theres no "goldfingers" to connect a bridge to... I installed the catalyst software with both installed and speccy (a program for monitoring system info" comes back with crossfire X disabled. also theres supposed to be an area in catalyst to choose the cards your linking which was not there.

so I did some research and the cards apparently are not crossfire X ready like advertised, they are good for "dual graphics" which is fine because the processor is an AMD FX 4130 which has some GPU ability. so I removed one card and I am now trying to set up the dual graphics and im not sure where to begin.

Mobo = M5A97 LE R2.0 (Socket 942)

I don't have any onboard VGA or DVI connecors which leads me to believe no onboard graphics.. all of the info I have read about enabling this says to turn init graphics to onboard, and I don't have that option in bios.

any help would be appreciated

any other info needed I will gladly supply

Thanks
Russ
__________________

Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

You need an APU to pair with that card or another similar 6570 to pair via software. The FX4130 does not have an IGP.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You need an APU to pair with that card or another similar 6570 to pair via software. The FX4130 does not have an IGP.

I have 2 identical cards, but im not able to get them to work via software.
Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

So you have 2 6570 cards together? If so, then the Crossfire option should come up in CCC. You're using the latest WHQL off AMD's site right?

Edit: I should also mention, these 2 in Crossfire will cause a ton of micro-stuttering. It would have been better to simply get a better single card.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

It does come up, but no option to select the cards, and that speccy software says crossfire X disabled. maybe its wrong? is there any way to tell in the system? also using a dual monitor setup and had both plugged into same card (one VGA one DVI) im not sure if that is an issue as well. WHQL? sorry im not that tech savvy and most acronyms throw me off.

Thanks
Russ
Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

WHQL, official non beta drivers off the AMD site. If Crossfire is selected and on then it should be working. Try using GPU-Z instead. I don't trust Speccy.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

every time I tried to install the latest drivers from the site it crashed my system and I had to either system restore or install windows again. I used the links through the software that came with the card and it brought me to the website where I could install the latest drivers.

I know a better single card would be better but I already have these and trying to make em work best I can. since one came with the kit I just got a duplicate to run the crossfire.
Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

Uninstall the current drivers first then install them.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Uninstall the current drivers first then install them.

I have tried that also, I will check the site instead of using the media, maybe that's the issue.

but what your saying is pretty mugh its plug and play and just need to install drivers and use catalyst to setup and I should be good to go?

Thanks
Russ

edit: should I keep both monitors on 1 card or plug each monitor into its own card?
Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 05:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default Re: confused on crossfire X - AMD Radeon HD 6570 (XFX Pine Group)

Crashed my system again installing new drivers. Went to the site this time ..... Not sure what to do at this point.
__________________

Russd772 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.