on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2007, 04:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card..

i have integrated graphics and i just ordered a new video card
when it gets her, after ive physically installed it, is it correct that i have to wait until restart, and on the loading screen hit f10 or whatever it is to get the setup menu
and then where it says

primary video adapter, or something to that effect
do i switch it from PCI , to PCI-E
(Im not sure why its already on pci intsead of onboard, seeing as how i have integrated.. hmm)?
__________________

pianoplayer is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 457
Send a message via MSN to SpikedCola
Default Re: on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card..

It should automatically disable the onboard video when you install a video card, so there's no need to change any settings.
__________________

__________________

Asus P5E | Q6600 | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066 | BFG 8800GTS | 5x1.5TB SATA2 | 2x500GB SATA2 in RAID1
SpikedCola is offline  
Old 12-30-2007, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card..

ok thanks
any ideas as to why it's defaulted at PCI when i don't have anything there...? it's onboard? but its not set on it
pianoplayer is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 02:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card..

its defaulted to PCI so that it when you install a new card you dont have to go to bios to change it. if it was set default to integrated you would. if its set default to PCI, and theres nothing in the PCI, then it will automatically go to the secondary, or integrated card. if you install something into the PCI (or PCIE) then the computer recognizes a card in the default config and automatically disables the secondary.
the_patriot2008 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
graphics card Dr.Gootch Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 11-20-2007 10:10 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.