Configuring Media/Gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Configuring Media/Gaming PC

Hey, I am building a high-end gaming/media PC. I found my everything I need but was wondering, I am going to use an AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ and an MSI K9N SLI Platinum Motherboard. I found a graphics card called the Palit GeForce 8800 GT Super+1GB card. Would they be compatible. I mean they are SLI compatible and stuff.

And also, what would be a good sound card for gaming and media.

Thanks so much!
__________________

lazykiller is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

Its compatible, but some boards have trouble posting with newer CPU's like the 6400+ check the reviews for the Board to see if it supports the 6400+ out of the box, or if you need to Flash the BIOS to the latest version (which means you'd need an older AM2 CPU to do it)
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

It is a bundle on the internet....heres a link

MSI K9N SLI Platinum Motherboard CPU Bundle - AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Processor Black Edition 3.20GHz Retail at TigerDirect.com
lazykiller is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

It looks like its gonna post, but you still should flash the BIOS, because a review says that it didn't read the CPU Multiplier correctly, it says it capped at 14x when it should be at 16x, so you should Flash it to get the right speed
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
900RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bradenton, Florida
Posts: 199
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

That Palit 1GB is supposed to be not any better than a 512mb at all normal resolutions and isn't worth the extra money. They are relying on the 1GB spec alone to draw people in and make the sell. You'd be better off getting a 8800GT or GTS 512MB
__________________
Build Done
Cooler Master Stacker 830 Evolution
Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4 x 1GB
Gigabyte P35-DS3L
BFG 8800GTS
E8400
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7200.11
Asus 20x SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Logitech G15 keyboard
Logitech G5 Mouse
Corsair 750TX PSU
Thermalright Ultima-90
Vista Home Premium 64
900RR is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

Thanks guys!

If I where to stick with the AMD processor, what would be a good motherboard.

If there isnt anything then I will flash the bios.
lazykiller is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 08:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

didn't catch that, I just saw he said is it compatible, but yes, the Palit does overclock better, and the 1gb is OVERKILL, you only need it at high resolutions, but even then, the 512mb is more than enough (actually in some cases the Palit loses to the regular 512mb at the same speed, but not noticeable)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 04:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

Omg.. what a marketing rip-off. Sucks that people fall for that.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 06:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

If you are planning to change to intel then I recommend these parts

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Retail

And you can get 8800GT 512MB for $225 from here
NCIXUS.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GT 600MHZ 512MB 1.8GHZ DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out Video Card - 512-P3-N801-AR.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-22-2008, 06:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Configuring Media/Gaming PC

Newegg is selling 8800GTS 512MB for $279 after MIR
Newegg.com - BFG Tech BFGE88512GTSE GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Thats a good deal
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
on configuring my computer to recognize a new graphics card.. pianoplayer New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-02-2008 02:30 AM
Having trouble configuring my wireless computer for xbox 360 umass02 Microsoft XBox 7 12-20-2007 01:46 PM
Configuring audio from speakers while recording? carnageX Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 11-05-2007 01:08 PM
Problem configuring Network Adapter. EamonX1 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-29-2007 07:33 PM
Having trouble configuring headset with new PC motoxer4533 Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 07-14-2007 01:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.